We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent house in magnificent location”
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
YOUTUBE AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH FOR FULL WALK THROUGH
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
YOUTUBE AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH FOR FULL WALK THROUGH
1
1
Surfing at Carrowniskey Beach
Sunset as captured from house
old head sunset from the house
Old Head Beach literally on your doorstep
Old Head Beach
Wraparound Windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eileen M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent house in magnificent location”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We visited Avalon at the beginning of October.A family celebration: a party of 13. We were overwhelmed by the house it`s space and quality of materials and so well fitted out with every modern appliance......As for the views stunning .both seawards and inland. .Croagh Patrick behind us and Clew Bay Just 100 yards ahead .Our experience with the owner and his manager was always a pleasure as they treated us with the greatest respect and good humour. All details of the rental went through as expected all of which lead to us having a wonderful weekend. We would deariy love to visit again for a longer stay and have recommended it to many friends already.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevj66425
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This property lives up to everything it shows and promises. Lovely comfortable beds, stunning views, total peace and tranquillity. The owner is an honest man to do business with and the caretaker is very helpful. Lovely bread from the owners brother was a nice touch as well.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowleygan...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Avalon is a beautiful holiday home which has every comfort we could possibly want for our weekend stay. We were a party of 13 adults and there was plenty of living space, bedrooms and bathrooms for us to never cross paths. We never got bored of the beautiful views of Clew Bay from the large windows or the walk along the beach just at the end of the path. We climbed Croagh Patrick and were blessed with fantastic views of the whole bay and beyond. Louisburgh is a lovely local village with plenty of lively pubs with good food. Overall an amazing weekend, spent in an amazing house in an amazing location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely, calming decor and excellent views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joolzLeed...
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a dream house in a dream location Paradise is Avalon”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house is beautifully and meticulously appointed. Our first impression was that is was spotless and shiny and ultra modern, every day proved what a gem we had found. On the first morning the owners brother popped in with freshly baked bread as a welcome, the linen cupboard is stocked like a shop the kitchen is a dream and there is a laundry attached with everything one can need . Ample en-suites and house bathrooms, outside shower and two outside hoses for sandy feet. The barbeque is on an industrial scale. The entire living experience from fully tuned TV's to manicured lawns was divine. I cannot wait to go again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The open aspect to the amazing view
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 5* accommodation...ideal for family groups.”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have 4 young children who had the time of their lives playing on the beautiful beach just a tiny walk away. The gardens provided even more fun when we tired of the sea and sand and the house itself far far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & quality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Williamsburg VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection and Charm”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Avalon was the perfect home for our group of 11 with 4 teenagers. The house is beautiful, the views our breathtaking and ever changing and the beach was an adventure every day. We loved all the comforts of home like the fully updated kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms as well as the extras like the outdoor grill/fireplace, laundry room, and a living dining room that could accommodate everyone every day. We explored the region and loved it, but truly one could stay at Avalon and be swept away by the water, wind, sun, horses, beach , bay view, mountain view and green rolling hills each and every day. The owner, housekeeper, gardener, handyman and townspeople were so incredibly kind and knowledgeable. We were so charmed and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1WhiteRos...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“'Wow'”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I spent one week with four other couples, self catering at Avalon, Louisburgh, County Mayo. The property and its location are superb, very spacious, wooden floors, leather sofas, large screen TV, magnificent floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay, mountains and wonderful sunsets. There is a well equipped open plan kitchen with spacious 'fridge/water/ice make and a separate wine cooler fridge built into the kitchen island. The three en suite bedrooms are spacious, the en suites' finish 5*
Although there were ten of us in this property it never felt crowded. We enjoyed two evening meals sitting outside at the patio tables on the beautiful paved area surrounding the property, where we were able to look out to sea over the misty mountains - the views are amazing! The property leads to the beach which is only a short walk from the property. There is a similar property, which is slightly larger, directly to the rear of the property. the two properties together would sleep 24. This holiday was a wonderful experience which we hope to repeat, next time with our family. We cannot wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern spacious ambiance and the magnificent views
Liked least: Property at the rear was not occupied during our holiday but if it was occupied Avalon would not be so private.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing