We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful 5* accommodation...ideal for family...”
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
YOUTUBE AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH FOR FULL WALK THROUGH
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
YOUTUBE AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH FOR FULL WALK THROUGH
1
1
Surfing at Carrowniskey Beach
Sunset as captured from house
old head sunset from the house
Old Head Beach literally on your doorstep
Old Head Beach
Wraparound Windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christina...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5* accommodation...ideal for family groups.”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have 4 young children who had the time of their lives playing on the beautiful beach just a tiny walk away. The gardens provided even more fun when we tired of the sea and sand and the house itself far far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & quality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Williamsburg VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection and Charm”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Avalon was the perfect home for our group of 11 with 4 teenagers. The house is beautiful, the views our breathtaking and ever changing and the beach was an adventure every day. We loved all the comforts of home like the fully updated kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms as well as the extras like the outdoor grill/fireplace, laundry room, and a living dining room that could accommodate everyone every day. We explored the region and loved it, but truly one could stay at Avalon and be swept away by the water, wind, sun, horses, beach , bay view, mountain view and green rolling hills each and every day. The owner, housekeeper, gardener, handyman and townspeople were so incredibly kind and knowledgeable. We were so charmed and we will be back.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1WhiteRos...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“'Wow'”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I spent one week with four other couples, self catering at Avalon, Louisburgh, County Mayo. The property and its location are superb, very spacious, wooden floors, leather sofas, large screen TV, magnificent floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay, mountains and wonderful sunsets. There is a well equipped open plan kitchen with spacious 'fridge/water/ice make and a separate wine cooler fridge built into the kitchen island. The three en suite bedrooms are spacious, the en suites' finish 5*
Although there were ten of us in this property it never felt crowded. We enjoyed two evening meals sitting outside at the patio tables on the beautiful paved area surrounding the property, where we were able to look out to sea over the misty mountains - the views are amazing! The property leads to the beach which is only a short walk from the property. There is a similar property, which is slightly larger, directly to the rear of the property. the two properties together would sleep 24. This holiday was a wonderful experience which we hope to repeat, next time with our family. We cannot wait!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern spacious ambiance and the magnificent views
Liked least: Property at the rear was not occupied during our holiday but if it was occupied Avalon would not be so private.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne L
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing House”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from an extended weekend trip at this amazing house. Only 100meters from the beach, a beautiful view of the sea and also Croagh Patrick. We were a group of 12 friends and we all had loads of space. Its newly renovated to a very high standard. Showers fantastic. Kitchen had everything we wanted (we had our meals in the house each evening) The owner Michael was so nice, even had left us milk and cake when we arrived in case we were hungry. There even was a special outdoor shower for those surfing on the beech etc. We got a mini bus taxi into Westport twice and it was only about a 10 min journey. Only 3-5 min car journey to the car park for Croagh Patrick. Would love to come back for another visit!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views of the sea
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jura01
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Avalon is situated in a beautiful place with stunning views all around. The property is very spacious and has all mod cons. There were 10 in our group and it never felt crowded. If you can tear yourself away from the comfort and scenic views from the property itself; then Westport is only a short drive and Loisburgh even closer. The Delphi pass is stunning mountain scenery and there are plenty of small unspoilt bays all around the local coast. Great for walks and wildlife. Plenty of places to enjoy a meal out. Michael the owner of the property has done everything to make this a charming and memorable property which is a true delight. A week is not long enough and you will definitely be back again wanting more as we will be!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beauty of the view and accessibility to the beach.
Liked least: small master bathroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful house in a magical location overlooking Clew Bay with direct access to Old Head beach which we used for long walks every day.

12 of us stayed in the house and due to its size and layout it never seemed over crowded. This was enhanced by the open plan aspect and large panoramic windows which seemed to bring the outside in.

Dealing with the owner was a pleasure. He and his representatives in Lousiburgh ensured that we all had a fabulous holiday. Nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving at the end of holiday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing