We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Ballycroy National Park
Ranked #6 of 44 things to do in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is well out of the way but worth the effort. Situated near my husbands family home, Ballcroy is a regular stop and I'm pleased it is. Everyone is friendly and the views are great. The coffee shop is also great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chriscNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    55
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennevieres-sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unexpected but awesome"Ginger & Wild café"”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We came upon this place almost by accident: in need of something to eat...it was a very pleasant surprise: the couple running the café is very friendly and the guy is actually french...the food was delicious and not expensive at all...the view from the café is stunning and relaxing...a very good experience...we didn't have time to explore the surroundings but it all looked very nice....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank harperWaitforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A great unexpected find”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We found this place completely by accident on the drive south from Achill. It was a bit out of our way but was a lovely way to pass an hour.

The exhibition center had some video presentations of the area along with some interactive exhibits for the kids but the nicest part is the nature trail; a 20-30 min stroll through the wild landscape. The trail is paved the whole way around making it suitable for buggies and the views are fantastic.

We didnt eat in the cafe but it looked nice and had free wifi.

Tip - there seems to be a second boardwalk / walk on the left hand side of the road as you approach from the Westport side, it could be worth checking out. Im not sure if its associated with Ballycroy or the Greenway but it looks like a nice walk.

Admission to the National Park is free and it was well worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank wfi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great family fun... Lots to do and see”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful location with stunning walks, excellent heritage centre and lovely cafe. We really enjoyed the interactive displays and audiovisual footage.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J_A_Brown_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and interesting activities for kids”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visit every time we go to Ireland, the views are superb, especially on a sunny day you can see for miles! In the centre there's some really entertaining activities for young ones and interesting info on the national park for older ones too. Cafe on site also and plenty of free parking well worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballycroy National Park also viewed

 

Been to Ballycroy National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing