We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elephant Guest House
Ranked #41 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

pros Nice house great central location very clean good choice at breakfast.

cons small ensuites which is a minor problem. the big problem is the owners do not live on the premises which can lead to problems. My wife and i stayed on the night of the 28th of july 2012 and there was a musical festival on in town which is great, but not if some of the guests arrive back at 3 in the morning blind drunk and spend the next 2 hours singing,shouting banging on each others doors and in some cases trying to break them down if their mates would not let them in. So no sleep for us then, sort of takes out the bed from bed and breakfast. Complained about this at breakfast got a sorry about that and end of story. so lesson learned will not be staying here again or any b and b when the owners do not live in.Cant imagine what it would be like if a stag or hen party was staying.

Room Tip: check who is staying as the owners dont
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you want to make the long trip from Dublin and you have the time 3hrs, or a short trip from Galway less than 1hr you will not be disapointed by westport and beyond.Not being in this part of the world before i found it a more real experiance.
The first thing was my accommodtion The Elaphant bed &breakfast. And what a breakfast!From the moment i arrived to the moment i left they took it in there stride to make my holiday the best it could be.I should add that the Elaphant is attached to a awardwinning pork butchers shop that has a integral part in the town of 5 to 7 thousand residents,
IF CARLSBURG DID HOLIDAYS...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A nice lady in Boffin Lodge suggested the Elephant Guesthouse when it was proving quite difficult to get a B+B in Wesport on New Year's Eve and we were not disappointed. It is in a very central location, but a room at the back meant a quiet and restful sleep. It is only open a year, so everything is spanking new and renovated to a very high standard including superking beds, blackout curtains, power showers, beautiful furnishings and light-fittings. It has all the practicalities you would ever need and a touch of glamour also. Attention has been paid to every little detail with beautifully white bed linens, faux fur throws and piles of fluffy bath sheets, bath towels in the ensuite. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room and available on the landing were an iron and hairdryer. Our room seemed to be a little bigger than one adjacent to us so be sure you ask for a bigger room. The breakfast was more like that of a hotel with a buffet of pastries, cereals, juices and bread. There was also a menu of cooked food to choose from including a Jumbo breakfast (which included a lamb chop!), baby elephant breakfast, scarmbled egg and smoked salmon, fresh porridge with cream/honey. Altogether it was a great stay and we ended up staying a second night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadylady125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A yearly biker event the first weekend in October along with the Westport Arts Festival had nearly every place booked up in town. The hotel where the bikers were staying suggested the Elephant Guest House. I gave it a try and sure enough they had a room available and at a very reasonable price. Very clean room and comfortable bed. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. I will definitely stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M772YCshawnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I arrived in Westport with no accommodation booked. Having been turned away from several B&Bs with no vacancies I rang the Elephant's bell and was surprised to see the butcher from two doors down come out of his shop to talk to me. Turns out this was Des and he also runs the B&B. He said he had a room available and having seen it I was glad I didn't have any luck previously. Although quite a small room it had the biggest, comfiest double-bed of my trip. The en-suite was also compact but spotlessly clean, with excellent fluffy towels. Needless to say I had an excellent night's sleep and in the morning discovered that the shower is powerful enough to blow away the hangover from enjoying Westport's many bars. Being a butcher I expected great things from the breakfast and was not disappointed - one of the best "full Irish" I've ever had. Des's service was also very friendly and he suggested scenic detours for my onward journey. So, all-in-all highly recommended, but one word of warning - it's cash payment only.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

the B&B is right in the heart of Westport within easy walking distance of the excellent Sage restaurant as well as Matt Malloy's pub. Des was very nice & gave us spot on recommendations as well as a nice hearty breakfast. The accommodations were tasteful & very clean (actually the room was a bit larger than most B&B's)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at the Elephant Guest House recently and it was perfect. The accommodations were immaculate and the breakfasts, prepared by Des, were wonderful. I cannot wait until we are able to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
#7 of 70 in Westport
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Eleven
Number Eleven
#37 of 70 in Westport
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Carrabaun House
Carrabaun House
#26 of 70 in Westport
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Hall
Linden Hall
#8 of 70 in Westport
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Guest House

Address: Elephant Guest House Mill Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $91 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Elephant Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing