We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pantry & Corkscrew

The Pantry & Corkscrew
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had early bird meal - great value. Lots of interesting vegetarian options on menu. Very friendly staff and food was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    88
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience for all the senses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My dining experience in the Pantry & Corkscrew was a real treat for all the senses.
The warm and welcoming energy was just right, and the food from colour, to taste, to aroma was nourishing and nurturing.
It was a lovely way to finish the weekend with my visitors who were visiting Castlebar and Westport.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelene C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Co. Mayo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great food and super owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

A lovely little restaurant but with a feeling of real homeliness. On my first visit I got hooked on the soup and thought - if the chef can make such great soup, then the rest is worth a try and to date, nothing about the Pantry and Corkscrew disappoints! Such a pity we don't live closer. So far, it's the only place in Westport where one can get a really good 'flat white' coffee, I have tried the rest, believe me! This, together with the home made bread, scones, desserts make it a 'must stop' when in Westport.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DromCaoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and ambieance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a recommendation for Pantry & Corkscrew for either lunch or dinner. We went for dinner and, hands down, has been the best place we have eaten at in Westport. I don't know where to start as the bread was wonderful, the soup was outstanding and the night's special of flank steak...well, my husband asked for it rare to medium rare and the chef was spot on! Then the chips were THE best also. Come to find out, the peel them, cut them there on site. No pre-cut or frozen potatoes. My husband had their own homemade ketchup which would make any ketchup lover extremely jealous of this version. I had the early bird special and suffice it to say it was also very good. So good I couldn't finish it all and had to have a take away. This is a gem in Westport and you would be yourself well to come and enjoy very, very good food. The owners are tops and so, so pleasant to talk with. Stop by and you really won't regret it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank StoneWiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So Friendly, comfortable and simply first class food at an amazing price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would love a restaurant like this in my neighbourhood in Dublin. There is just nothing like it - great food, great ambience and such lovely friendly service. We had dinner there 2 nights in a row just before easter. Wholesome perfectly executed food with a homely feel. High quality comfort food. Yummy! As for Janice she is just a star front of house person. Friendly helpful and you just know you are in safe hands. Such a buzz in the place on both nights. Dermott in the kitchen and Janice are such an interesting pair they both had jobs in Dublin, gave it all up and moved west where they are really adding to the star town of Westport. Full marks to them and delighted to see that they recently got a bridgestone guide recommendation - for me the best indication of quality in Irish food and lodging.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BrendanDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry & Corkscrew also viewed

 

Been to The Pantry & Corkscrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing