We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pantry & Corkscrew

The Pantry & Corkscrew
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Wonderful food. really havent had food this good in a long time. definitely check it out

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    87
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroke City NI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A super, informal quality dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I were delighted to get back for a meal at Pantry & Corkscrew again while visiting Westport for local hillwalking. Janice and her staff once again did not disappoint. This fine neighbourhood eatery is calm, quirky and casual in appearance, but the food is nothing short of crafted to excellence. On this occasion, we had a selection from the winter menu accompanied by a glass of delicious wine. The mixture of flavours and fresh ingredients evidentially used was a joy to savour. Portion sizes are right and there is a nice pacing to the service.
The restaurant offers value for money in these times. While not traditionally 'romantic' in theme, there was a mixed group of diners of different vintages for different occasions: creating a nice ambience. The Pantry & Corkscrew is a place we'll be back to, next time we're in town!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in quirky surroundings with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I visited this restaurant for the second time last weekend. We were looking forward to a return visit and were not disappointed. Try the putog for starter; its made by a local butcher from Newport; excellent and combined well with sweet jelly sauce. The lemon tart is also delicious!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab,Fab,fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We regularly visit the Pantry and the Corkscrew at weekends for brunch. Janice always welcomes us with a warm smile and informs on the delicious soups and specials of the day. We are always intrigued by the amazing soups on offer-butternut squash and sweet potato. celeriac and most recently roasted garlic,pepper and bean-incredible taste explosions. Of late the bangers and mash is my hsubands favourite and mine is the sage and cheese infused burger with homemade chips/tomato relish and mayo. The owners/chefs appreciate great food, show creativity and appreciation for locally sourced produce.
All of the delctable treats are served in a quirky eclectic environment with lots of mismatched cosy furnishings. Couple this with a great seclection of background music and this makes for an overall memorable dining experience.\my ownly advice is that no trip to Wesport should be without a trip to the Pantry and the Corkscrew.! Enjoy

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great service, pity about the food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The only other couple left as the four of us arrived at about 8pm on a thursday night. The front of house lady was chatty and very pleasant. The food really let the place down. Two of us had the meatballs with pasta for mains. The only thing you could taste was the tomato sauce. Four starters, four mains and two bottles of house wine came to Euro 165.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry & Corkscrew also viewed

 

Been to The Pantry & Corkscrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing