We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Temptations Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 93 Restaurants in Westport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Ate here a few years ago, food was brilliant and staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!

Thank review321123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017

My wife and I first stopped here on our first road trip together 5 years ago. The food then was absolutely delicious, we couldn't believe the quality, particularly as it was in such a non-descript location, hidden away at the back of a hotel.
We went back 3 years ago and the food was even better, so we were looking forward to our visit a few weeks ago, we even brought our relatives, telling them that this restaurant had some of the best food around.

I can't adequately describe the disappointment when we arrived, it quickly become clear that the fine dining aspect had been chucked for below standard Pub Grub. There is nothing wrong with pub grub if done well but the food we got was bland and tasteless.
I don't usually complain about the service as they have a hard enough job as it is, but in this case it was very poor, the glasses were not clean and we didn't even have all the cutlery set out.
One of our party received the wrong order and had to wait an age to get his replacement, when he did receive it there was a piece of a plastic bag in it. My wife and I were so disappointed we didn't even bother complaining. We finished our meals and quickly left.

It used to be a hidden gem this place but now sadly it is like any other run of the mill hotel restaurant. Very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joezoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my fiancee visited here at about 9 at night the staff were more than acconadating and took our order with no trouble despite alomst closing. The starters arrived large portion and very tasty staff extreamly friendly and out mains followed very promptly again large portion but very well presented so much so we made pigs of ourselves and finished the lot overall amazing place for cozy quiet tasty food :)

2  Thank Seán D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Seán D

Thank you for your very positive review of your visit to Temptations Restaurant. I am very glad that you enjoyed the food so much and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We have a great team in the restaurant and bar and they do go out of their way to exceed expectations! I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and to the kitchen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill Times Hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards

Colette Moran
Front of House Manager
The Mill Times Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Sadly I have to say this restaurant is currently unavailable. We arrived here Sunday and as we are regular visitors to this Restaurant we were very disappointed to find that it was no longer available and that we were informed that the only dining option was the bar food offering. Needless to say we were very disappointed as we had travelled from Galway and we like the fine dining aspect that Temptations offered.
Emailed the hotel to query why the Restaurant was no longer available and am still waiting for a response maby they will give one here.

Thank Dellk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Good afternoon Derek
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and for choosing to visit us on Sunday.
We run a traditional Sunday lunch menu throughout the day, which carries on through the evening.
Sunday it happens we had a private party in our Restaurant area.
Temptations restaurant is available and can be pre-booked for parties and groups.
We have a bar food menu with runs throughout the hotel incorporated into our bistro area.
We have noticed a change in direction of our guests with a higher demand for bar food and casual dining.
This has been based on guest’s feedback and the comments we receive.
With this in mind we have changed our focus to reflect our offering.
I hope you will choose to return to us at some stage in the future.
Kind regards,
Colette Moran
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch with family. The kids 'went missing' for most of the time! They were fully engaged and entertained with the bouncing castle and the face painting being the highlight for them. We enjoyed a drink with the Sunday lunch. The food was excellent - lamb shank, Thai curry and turkey and ham. The staff were attentive and the service was good. This is a popular spot for Sunday lunch.

Thank FlamboShambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe O, General Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear FlamboShambo,
Thank you for your review of our Temptations Restaurant. I am so pleased to hear that both you and your family had such an enjoyable afternoon. This is exactly the kind of environment we were aiming for with our Cheeky Monkey’s Club, a relaxing area for parents to enjoy something to eat while their children play in a safe and supervised area.
We have passed on your kind words to the team and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
Warm Regards
Colette Moran
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptations Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Temptations Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing