We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temptations Restaurant

Temptations Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Arrived in Westport last Suday, beautiful place. Tried to get a booking in An Port Mor (as we had been there before and the meal was excellent) but it was closed so we checked Trip Advisor for recommendations and Temptations had a lot of great reviews - also recommended by Paulo Tulio. Got to the restaurant at 8.30, there was music blaring from the bar (and as our table was right next to the door we asked to move to another table which was no problem). The first thing I noticed was bought-in Delice de France bread on the table. Asked the waiter what the wine of the month was like. He said it was good but it really was not good. We shared Clew Bay scallops for starters which were cooked nice but the salad was out of a packet and not fresh. For mains my missus had half roast duck which was burnt on the outside and the flesh was tough. I had the Wicklow venison which was not great - a four year old could have put up better! The accompaniments were lumpy mash and grey broccoli. When we complained to the waiter he was very helpful and apologetic and sympathetic for everything. Maybe the head chef was off that night. Found the whole experience over-fussed. At the end of the day I like good simple food cooked properly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Purro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, General Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Purro T,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about your recent visit to Temptations Restaurant. I was obviously extremely disappointed to read the contents of the review and I sincerely apologise that we did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to our Head Chef and she will investigate further. I understand that your server for the evening was Matt (one of our Managers) who replaced the wine of the month for Chianti and I believe you were happy with this alternative wine, I was glad to learn that your complaint on the night was dealt with correctly and professionally. Alternative dishes were offered but I was informed you declined. Our Head Chef and her Team are dedicated to ensuring that each diners experience is exceeded and it is disappointing when this does not happen. We would like to invite you back to Temptations Restaurant in the near future and sample the true Temptations that we are known for. We would be delighted if you would avail of your complimentary voucher that you received on departure at your earliest convenience and we will guarantee a more enjoyable evening

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    36
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
“top notch dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a meal we had in temptations restaurant on saturday night past. We had the pleasure of experiencing a true culinery delight and would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff involved and in particular matthew who looked after us so attentively. We will definately be telling all our friends to visit when in westport. The whole experience was top notch and the icing on the cake was Tyrone beating Mayo the following day!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you Maria O for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations, Matthew will be delighted to know that he helped to make your visit more enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,
Warm regards from Westport,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cannot fault food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went to this restaurant for my Birthday using Tripadvisor as our guide. Food was just excellent. When I saw the menu first I was a little disappointed as I am not a fish lover and there was a lot of fish dishes on the menu which meant I was limited to my choice of dishes. But to my surprise, even though I choose breast of chicken for my main, it was the best chicken i have every tasted. My husband was in heaven as he loves fish and he thought his crusted salmon was out of this world. Before every course on the menu we got a sample dish which was a lovely treat. Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Will definately return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you Maria G for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations. Thank you for your feedback, I have brought it to the attention of our Head Chef.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,
Warm regards from Westport,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lead me into Temptation ,every time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a surprise treat from He who must be obeyed! And what a treat , steak cooked to perfection for him , I stuck to my old reliable fish and chips , polished it off with apple crumble , it was all fab. , my new Westport regular !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you Anna C for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,
Warm regards from Westport,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I dined here 2/2/13. I had read the reviews on this site and I wasnt disappointed. Cuisine to die for, ultra professional and friendly service, flawless. For anyone travelling to this wonderful Mayo town it would be a crime NOT to eat at Temptations. Whatever particular awards this chef has won she deserves every one of them and more! Thanks to ALL the staff for a marvellous evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you Janet S for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,
Warm regards from Westport,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptations Restaurant also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Temptations Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing