We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Delicious food in friendly atmospher. We had the early bird menu. Excellent quality at a very reasonable price.

Thank haan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear haan38,
Thanks for posting. We are really glad you enjoyed the meal and value. Now that Ryanair are flying direct from Eindhoven to Knock, perhaps it would be worthwhile to join us more often!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ APM Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 602 of 961 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Recently visited here on a busy weekend night. The restaurant is nicely decorated and there was a nice atmosphere in the dining room.

The menu read very well - there was plenty of choice. I had the crab cakes for starter and the steak for main. My main criticism is that there was far too many elements in each dish. There were various elements in each dish that I thought had no place with the other food. While the steak in particular was nice in isolation the dishes as a whole were only average. My partner felt the same - some beautiful pieces of food spoiled by some bizarre combinations and far too many elements in general.

Our desserts were pedestrian. There was a special of a chocolate fondant which my girlfriend was particularly excited about. When it arrived it was overcooked and solid through which was disappointing.

Service was initially very attentive but following our main course it slowed dramatically. We had to ask for the bill twice and wait 15 minutes for it to be brought - not a good memory to end with.

2  Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear rovingrebel,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the menu and atmosphere in the restaurant. Most people who comment on the vegetables have good things to say about the variety and freshness. We are sorry if the dessert was over-cooked. This is highly unusual and if you had mentioned it we would have replaced it immediately. The bill comes with a complimentary petit fours and on this occasion it took a few minutes longer. Again, we apologise for making you wait.
Kind regards,
All the staff @ APM restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We are in Westport for only 2 days so naturally we went to TA for recommendations. The reviews were "spot on". Make a reservation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pops3147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Pops3147,
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us. We recommend booking by phone or send us a message via our website and we will get back to you before service begins. Thanks again!
All the staff @ APM Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We loved our meal at An Port Mor. We opted for the early bird menu. My husband started with roasted pork cheeks which were very tender and flavorful coupled with a red wine sauce. There were lots of taste surprises on the plate including an excellent black pudding and fresh greens. I stArted with an outstanding warm goat cheese salad with beets and fresh greens. Our mains were also outstanding. The rack of lamb was done perfectly and two sauces were used, a fresh mint sauce and a red pepper jelly. There were fresh vegetables on the plate and two kinds of potatoes, scalloped and mashed . Both were outstanding. My husband ordered pan fried hake which was seasoned quite nicely and had the same assortment of vegetables. Our waitress recommended a perfect Cote de Rhone which was delicious. There were complimentary sweets after dinner. Service was friendly and well paced. Thank you, Ashley. Don't miss this restaurant when you visit Westport.

Thank buddiesforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Buddiesforlife,
We are delighted you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us. We take great pride in our knowledge of our local dishes and we love to match all our culinary choices with our list of world wines. It is great to hear we enhanced your holiday experience in Ireland and we look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Al the staff @ APM Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is simply fantastic.
Food was AMAZING and the service was excellent.

The restaurant itself is lovely.. It has a great atmosphere and feel to it.

The menu is excellent and wine list is balanced.

Try the pigs cheek! You wont be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spudigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello spudaherne,
We are really glad you are recommending us on Tripavisor and delighted you enjoyed the evening with us! The Pigs Cheeks are a very popular choice with our customers - hope to see you back another time soon!
Thanks again,
All the staff @ APM Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing