We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Was at An Port Mor on 11/02/14 and had probably the best meal ever. Even though we had the early bird menu, there was a great choice. The staff were very attentive and explained everything on the menu and on the specials board. The little touch of homemade lemocello and petit fours at the end of the meal was wonderful. I hope to return someday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hodgey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear hodgey59,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! We are really glad you both enjoyed dining with us. We offer five starters and mains followed by a choice of desserts, so there is something for everyone! Hope to see you back in Westport another time :)
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for An Port Mor Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 635 of 954 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited An Port Mor this weekend as a group of 6. We were seated upstairs which was actually great...away from the hustle and bustle in a nice warm environment...but not great if you have a weak bladder as the toilets are downstairs...anyway we liked it.

We had the early bird menu which is short with a choice of 4-5 starters and mains. We had no difficulty making our choices. I had pigs cheeks to start which were delicious and very morish and hake for main which was perfectly cooked. Most of our party had the locally sourced belly of pork which they loved. Each main was served with an intersting variey of veg and garlic and mash potato. Yum..we licked our plates clean.

We sampled most of the desserts which were well made and delicious..the cheeseboard was generous in portion size and plenty between 2.

We got a homemade lemocello and petit fours to finish off what was really a wonderful meal and great value at €22 for 2 courses and €25 for 3.

We will certainly be back...thanks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mayonews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Mayonews,
Thank you for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed the food so much. Our Earlybird menu is very popular and we offer it nightly until 7pm, and 6.30pm on Saturdays. We are looking forward to seeing you all back in hopefully soon!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Down in Westport for an out of season mid week break and checked trip advisor for recommendations on places to eat .. An port mor came up number one and rightly so! Food was amazing! We had the smoked duck and goats cheese starter - presentation was fabulous and the food tasted as good as it looked! Then we ordered the surf and turf and dry aged sirloin...
Again, presentation was outstanding.. It was hard to know what to eat first, as there were so many little hidden veg around the plate.. Blue potatoes, red cabbage, spinach, carrots, parsnips ... All cooked lovely.. The steaks were just gorgeous... Advertised as a 10 oz but more like 15! Topped with caramelised onion or scallops every mouthful was divine.. Meal was completed with complimentary petits fours and limoncello :) again these were lovely. Evening was finished off with Irish coffees.. The staff were lovely.
Couldn't recommend this place enough! Definitely worth every penny and will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elleyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Elleyaw,
Thanks for the lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed our food so much. A lot of effort goes into sourcing and preparing the best of Mayo produce and it's always a delight when customers enjoy the experience. We will look forward to seeing you another time in future - you wouldn't know what seasonal treats may be offered next time!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant
* Keep up to date with our latest menu on Facebook*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Based on the +ve reviews, we called by on Saturday afternoon but the restuarant was not open, so we phoned the number given on the door to book an 'early bird' (up to 6.30pm) dinner. We never heard back from them. We were passing later on Saturday evening and called by to be told 'We are fully booked, you have to book several weeks in advance, so we don;t answer calls any more'. That was enough for me - I would not want to eat in such an establishment. Instead, up the street we found a delightful Italian restauarant which was welcoming and delicious.

    • Service
3  Thank noreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear noreally,

We return all calls as soon as we possibly can and we take the majority of our bookings by phone. However, calling right before service begins on our busiest evening is usually inadvisable. On that particular night we were already fully booked and preparation for the evening was in full swing. We genuinely did not hear your message in time to get back to you. Anyone is welcome to walk in off the street and see if there is availability but we recommend booking in reasonable time.

Your review and your tantrums (was returning to the restaurant at 11:30pm to tell us you were going to write a bad review on trip advisor really necessary?) were highly unwarranted since you didn't actually dine with us.

Regards,
An Port Mór Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Tucked just off the Main Street a surprisingly big restaurant packed with Irish hospitality and smiling faces. Food was beautiful and local and made a perfect evening! It's already number one so what more can I say?

Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Fiona B,
Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor; we are really happy that you enjoyed the gourmet experience. We pride ourselves on serving good quality, local food matched with friendly service.
Looking forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards,
All the staff @An Port Mór Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing