We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, artistically prepared and presented . . . without pretension”

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We got into town had a quick look on Trip Advisor and though booking was recommended just walked in to An Port Mor. We were welcomed and seated immediately. We were drawn by the fresh seafood on the menu which idd not disappoint. Our entrees were accompanied by a variety of fresh local vegetables and potatoes. We declined dessert and were still treated to a selection of petits-fours which were scrumptious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosyg789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Rosyg789,
Thanks for posting! We are really glad you enjoyed dining with us and took the time to comment on your evening. We are proud to prepare and serve fresh seafood from Clew bay and the Atlantic. Looking forward to seeing you back in soon!
All the best,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 658 of 972 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

The family arrived in Westport on the 27th December for a 3 night stay at the Knockranny House Hotel. This is a good hotel and well worth a stay! Anyway we had 2 good meals at the hotel and had one at An Port Mor on Sunday 29th. There were 7 adults from the Sherry clan of Tyrone and expectations had been raised by the mother and father having dined at the restaurant in 2012. No fears, this was a great night and the food was delicious and the 'lemon vodka' was a great kick to the end of the night. 6 of us had the steak with Helen having fish (hake) and it would be unfair to try to find fault and it was a delight and filled us to the brim. Our children remarked afterwards that it was the best meal they ever had and would be returning to London and Belfast with great memories of the food and 'the night'. A great shout our then to hosts Frankie and Olivia and to all the staff. We will hopefully return in 2014 but for the moment let me say this is the first time I have taken to writing a review but sometimes you just have acknowledge a job well done!!! Best wishes for 2014 from Tom and Helen Sherry and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tomSS2081RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Tom,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It was great that you brought the family with you this time and we were really glad they all enjoyed the evening too! We are already looking forward to your return visit, hopefully soon!
All our best,
All the staff @An Port Mór Restaurant

**Keep up to date with all the latest news by following us on Facebook**

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Had an adequate meal here lamb was my dish was good but my wife ordered linguini from the a la carte and green tagliatelle was delivered which was odd, a lot of fish was off that night due to storms .

2  Thank Giardap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Giardap,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. However, linguini is not available on our menu. The dish your wife chose from our menu was Organic Spinach Tagliatelle with Crab claws & crab meat garlic, white wine, tomatoes, fresh herbs, parmesan finished with a Clew Bay lobster bisque. The tagliatelle is made in Mayo and is green in colour because of the spinach.

We very rarely run out of stock and on this occasion ran out of one item on our menu (scallops) due to low availability of local stocks.

Regards,
An Port Mór Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had 3 restaurants in mind when we visited Westport recently - after a word with a local we settled on this little gem ... It was a cold, wet December evening but the welcome was so warm and the menu so inviting we knew we had chosen wisely .... My starter was one of the best - scallops with Kelly's black pudding - I would drive back from Dublin just for the experience! Thank you we had a lovely evening and the bill would not frighten us from

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear joysi,
Thanks for your kind words! We are really glad you chose us and delighted you enjoyed our food so much. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in town!

Safe travelling,
All the staff @ APM restaurant

*Check out our menus on our Facebook page*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I visited An Port Mor while on a surfing trip to Achill Island with my partner. he suggested we had dinner in Westport to spend an eveing away from the island. We looked up restaurants in Westport on tripadvisor and the reviews for An Port Mor were really good hence we chose to dine there... We were not disappointed. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Our table was not the best (at the back of restaurant by the loo) but I understand that a restaurant has to maximise the space available; and the service and the food more than made up for the seating area. We both ordered from the early bird menu which, at 22 euros for 2 courses and 25 euros for 3 courses, is really great value. We had duck pate and pig's cheeks for starters followed by fresh sea trout and rump of mayo lamb. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and the variety served on the plate was great, specifically the gratin which I think was a carrot or sweet potato gratin (I meant to ask the waiters but forgot to do so) and was absolutely delicious. My only criticism would be the mash potatoes, they could have been creamier and lacked a bit of seasoning. After such succulent first 2 courses we both asked for the dessert menu and to our delight all their desserts (including the specials) can be ordered on the early bird menu. We had the raspberry and chocolate tiramisu and plum and apple crumble. I love making and eating crumbles and their crumble was delicious (not too sweet and crunchy topping). When we asked for the bill one of the lovely waitresses asked us if we had been offered a limoncello. We hadn't but she insisted that we tried one as we 'had done so well eating our courses' (not a hard thing to do :) but we accepted as one would. She came back with the limoncello and a plate of sweets including freshly baked beignets which sent me right back to my childhood in France. We ate it all! :) Thank you very much to the staff at An Port Mor to have given us such a lovely night out. I love dining out and it is a luxury to find a place which can combine great service, smiley staff and great food all at once. The next time I am in Westport I will order from regular menu as some of the dishes sounded mouth watering...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellagood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Ellagood,
We are really glad you enjoyed dining and had a lovely culinary experience with us. A lot of time goes into the preparation and cooking of our carefully chosen ingredients. We recommend booking early to avoid disappointment. You can find our holiday opening hours on our website and send a booking request through the 'Contact Us' section. We hope to see you back some time soon!

Seasons Greetings,
All the team @ APM restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing