We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Port Mor Restaurant

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Can honestly say this was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. From start to finish the food was divine, service was fantastic and got an early bird offering so great value. Staff were friendly, jolly and helpful and made some great recommendations. The homemade breads were delicious and would recommend "pigs cheek" for starters. Well worth a visit if you are in Westport. We will definitely back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DWCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear DWCork,
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are really glad you enjoyed the experience and hopefully we will see you back sometime in future!

Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór restaurant

Check out our menus on our website anportmor. com!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    161
    47
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful local food :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious local food, great menu, really friendly happy wait staff.. Only downside was sitting upstairs... A little funny due to small room but still very cute & fantastic service...never felt forgotten.. Highly recommend this place..will be back when visiting Westport again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Globetrotter Ireland,

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are delighted you enjoyed the experience. Hope to see you back in future!

All the best,
All the staff @ An Port Mór restaurant

Follow us & Find our menus on Facebook ** An Port Mor Restaurant***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a lovely chance meal here during our Irish holiday. The service was excellent, including great information about some of the dishes and wine, and the ambience was lovely.
I tried the pig cheeks as a starter as I'm not sure if I will get the chance again and they really were delicious. My husband had soup which he said was lovely.
We then had the lamb and a hake & scallop special as our mains. Everything was great, we especially appreciated the plentiful vegetables that came with the meal . The complementary sweet treats at the end were a nice touch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WandTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear WandTNZ,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience, especially the pigs cheeks, and hope to see you back sometime in future!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór restaurant

Follow us on Twitter for news & events @ APMwestport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Devine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to this restaurant a few times and it never disappoints. The food is delicious and the service is very friendly. I have suggested this place to several people and not one of them has come back with a bad word to say!!

Westport's hidden gem! by far my favourite restaurant in the town

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AilisOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear AilisOD,
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you recommend us and enjoy the 'An Port Mor' experience, be sure to let us know when you are in again!
All the best,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

Follow us on Twitter @ APMwestport to keep up with news & events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently I visited my sister in Ireland, she had made a reservation at this wonderful little restaurant in Westport, Co Mayo 'An Port Mor', I must say that the service was impeccable, the food truly delightful and the ambiance was just perfect. If you are visiting the area, you really must make a reservation at this 'hidden little gem' restaurant. I would go back in a heartbeat. The restaurant is hidden in a little alley way, so you might like to stop and ask a local person where it is, I am sure they will help.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Maria G,
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service. Hope to see you back again!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór restaurant

Find our menus on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing