We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Little Gem”

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently I visited my sister in Ireland, she had made a reservation at this wonderful little restaurant in Westport, Co Mayo 'An Port Mor', I must say that the service was impeccable, the food truly delightful and the ambiance was just perfect. If you are visiting the area, you really must make a reservation at this 'hidden little gem' restaurant. I would go back in a heartbeat. The restaurant is hidden in a little alley way, so you might like to stop and ask a local person where it is, I am sure they will help.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Maria G,
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service. Hope to see you back again!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór restaurant

Find our menus on Facebook!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 711 of 972 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went to this restaurant based on a Martin Shanahan of Fishy Fishy in Kinsale recommendation, as he owns possibly my favourite restaurant of all time. He was spot on, this place was fantastic - everything about is was good, - food, service and staff good fun and very nice. Nothing was a problem and the food was cooked so well with some incredible flavours. If the pigs cheeks are on the menu - have them, they are delic !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SOCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear SOCDublin,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are really glad you enjoyed the experience. Pigs Cheeks are a big hit here and tend to go down a treat. Looking forward to seeing you in future!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór restaurant

See our website for menu options anportmor .com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

went here on strength of previous reviews and a big thank you to all contributors , fabulous meal ,i had lobster starter my wife had crab cakes both were excellent, for mains i had hake and wife tried the cod, again both were superb , i had the lemon tart delicious , and the little surprise at the end was a really nice touch , its not cheap but the helpings are generous and the cooking is sublime ,will go back next time i am in the area oh and met a lovely american couple (was he really a pilot lol) highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Stais,
Delighted you enjoyed your experience with us! Thanks for taking the time to review us and yes, I think he actually was a pilot!

Kind regards
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

Why not check out our menus on Facebook! ** An Port Mor Restaurant**

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Always a first class experience from start to finish! The food is divine and service A1! Love this place :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SarahWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear SarahWestport,
Thanks for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience find our service A1! Hope to see you in again soon!
Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant
1 Brewery Place
Westport
Find us on Facebook ~ An Port Mór Restaurant ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A group of 5 of us when to dinner here last week. We went for the early bird option, which was lovely and great value. It was during out heat wave and we had a great table down the back with an open door behind us so there was a lovely breeze. Everything was just brilliant. The food was lovely, out two waitresses were great and while we had been told we had to leave at 8.30, there was no pressure to get us out the door, which I hate! Probably the highpoint was the complimentary Limoncello and petit fours at the end (well I didn't drink the former, but the litle ricotta balls that were very like little hot donuts were amazing and I love getting free stuff! I had been out for a very posh dinner the week before but I felt the food in An Port Mor was streets ahead of there and lovely for a relaxed dinner with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hotel-kinda-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Hotel-kinda-girl,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and also the wonderful weather. Look forward to seeing you again in future!

Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

Find us on Facebook to keep up with the latest news & events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing