We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 'hidden gem' Restaurant!”

An Port Mor Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $36
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An Port Mór Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
Rural Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely 'hidden gem' Restaurant!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I visited this 'tucked away' restaurant on business, and had a lovely meal. The food was excellent, from amazing bread to start, to fantastic lamb for main, to a splendid crème caramel for pud. Lovely 'extra' touches like home made limoncello and petit fours including the tastiest tiny doughnuts ever! Good attentive service.

The atmosphere was very cosy, yet busy, and just what we needed on a drizzly and cold evening in June.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CambsCountryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear CambsCountryGirl,

Thank you for your kind words! we are delighted you enjoyed the 'An Port Mór' experience and look forward to meeting you in future -and hopefully the sun will be out next time!

All the staff,

An Port Mór Restaurant
1 Brewery Place
Westport
Co. Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    170
    53
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Michelin recommended restaurant at affordable prices. We tried the early bird prix fixe menu and we're blown away. Attention to detail and wonderful blend of flavours textures and visual appeal. Wow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear David H,
We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again some time in future. Thanks for your kind words!

All the staff @ An Port Mór

Follow us on Twitter @ APMrestaurant / anportmor !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, U.A.E.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

At the end of a great day cycling the Great Western Way, my son, my grandson & myself decided to reward ourselves with a meal in this beautiful restaurant. It came highly recommended by our daughter. The minute we arrived our great experience began & continued throughout our very memorable meal. The service was great, the staff were attentive & very helpful. Our off menu requests were dealt with without fuss or bother making the entire experience memorable & delightful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Silverfox711
We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and also that you and your son enjoyed cycling on the Greenway too!. Thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts, and hopefully we will see you next time you're in town!

All the staff @ An Port Mór

Come visit us on Facebook to keep up to date with happenings & events! ~anportmor

1 Brewery Place
Westport
Co. Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherkin Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly prepared food!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were delighted with our meal on Saturday ... The fish special was tender, flavorful. The soup was original and locally sourced. We went with the creme caramel for dessert only because we wanted the 3-course deal, and it was our highlight. Loved the friendly staff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Shelby S,

Thanks for your kind words. We're delighted you were pleased with the food and service and took the time to write a lovely review!

All the staff @ An Port Mór

Folllow us Twitter / @ APMrestaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG " Cant wait to come back"”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and another couple were heading to Galway for the weekend and we decided to stop in Westport for the night. We asked in the hotel for a restaurant recommendation and they recommended a place called An Port Mor. It's quite deceiving at first, its up a little alley directly opposite Matt Molly's pub. We were greeted at the door by the owner himself and made feel very welcome. After some drinks he came out to talk us through the menu and explain the specials. I must say I have traveled a lot but the combination of foods was so different and simply mouthwatering. Our starters and mains were divine and there is a superb wine-list to choose from. I didn't have a desert as I was too full but the other 3 did and they raved about them all night. The nicest surprise of all was the bill, fine dining at reasonable prices! I would really like to thank the owner Frankie + his staff for making our night so enjoyable and have promised to come back as soon as we can. One of the best restaurants we have eaten in Ireland without a doubt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ci_D12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ciaran,
We're very glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed your experience with us. It was great to meet you. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit. Be sure to let us know when you are in again.

All the staff @ An Port Mór

Find us on facebook / anportmor !


An Port Mór Restaurant
1 Brewery Place
Westport
Co. Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing