We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lurgan House self catering cottage - a little gem!”
Review of Lurgan House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lurgan House B&B
Ranked #15 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The cottage was lovely. It was spotlessly clean,the kitchen was very well provisioned with the best range of equipment we've ever had in a rental cottage - very important as I still enjoy cooking even when we're on holiday! Ena was waiting to greet us on arrival with a wonderful, unexpected but very welcome hamper of 'goodies' - milk, bread, bacon, eggs, fruit etc. The bedrooms were lovely and had blackout blinds as well as curtains. The bathrooms were immaculate.
Ena was very kind and attentive to our needs, but never 'in our faces' - she popped over with some hot scones one morning, appeared with some huge beach towels when she spotted us packing our wetsuits another day and left a laundry basket for us when she saw that I'd done some laundry and we really should have taken her up on that offer of a cooked breakfast!

Although it was a family holiday, we were actually 5 adults - us, our 2 daughters and 1 boyfriend. The house is advertised as sleeping 5-8 and there were enough beds for 8 people, but only by having a double and a single bed in 2 rooms. It was fine for the 5 of us, but it would have been very tight for space for any more than 5 and you would not be able to fit more than 5 around the dining table at the same time, but that is the only minor negative in an otherwise wonderful holiday in a super cottage that we would happily return to and also highlt recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 347liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Lurgan House- we were very busy so weren't there much- but the room was spotless and the bathroom is huge. The breakfast was great!The day we checked out my husband and I had had a snafu with our bank (I'd like to write a terrible review about my bank- I went in to tell them we were going to Ireland and they shut down my account briefly while I was at Foxford Woolen Mills-I was HOT!) and Christina stayed on the phone with Foxford to get the items shipped for us, and she helped my husband track down a lead for his genealogy. We were able to spend time with her that last day, and it was lovely; she is a wonderful hostess and person. The B&B i very close to Croagh Patrick and Westport- it has gorgeous gardens and a great view of Croagh Patrick. I'd recommend this B&B- it was great.

Room Tip: The B&B was booked so we reserved the twin room- not perfect for us, but I'd do it again bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We struck gold one evening late July when we pulled up at Lurgan House. Within 5 mins we had a room with a view and the most comfortable sleep after a very tiring day. Our 8 yr old boy is still talking about Ena & Ger and their beautiful home. This was our first taste of holidaying in Westport and by far Lurgan house enhanced our trip for definite. The decor and cleanliness, the friendly caring personalities of the family not to mention the extra TLC we received after cycling the greenway in torrential rain. The location is perfect for the town and Croagh Patrick not to mention the beautiful beaches and the greenway cycle. We will definitely be back. Thank you Ena for being so kind. See you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShayK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just finished a 5 day stay at the Lurgan House on this our 7th trip to Ireland. If there is a nicer or more conscientious hostess in all of Ireland, we have yet to meet her. Ena (Christina) is wonderfully attentive without being intrusive, keeping the house spotless, and is an amazing cook always treating you with fresh baked goods. In addition to her great cooking, there is always plenty of fresh fruit on the buffet as well as other delicacies. The house itself, skillfully built by her husband Ger, who is equally welcoming, is the best of both worlds. Close enough to town to walk yet far enough to be in a peaceful setting surrounded by beautiful gardens and plenty of off street parking. The view from our room had a fantastic view of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay in the distance. There is a lovely back yard with a patio that can be used for a quiet cup of tea. In the garden is also a darling three bedroom self catering cottage which would be an excellent choice for a family or couples traveling together. To top it all off, in comparison to other B&B's in the area, it is an excellent value. We would give it our absolute highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the back with a lovely room and memory foam king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maine276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We used the family room which was sizable and very comfortable for the three of us. About a 15 minute walk from the centre of town, the B&B is quiet and set away from the late night noise but close enough to town. The proprietor was extremely welcoming and helpful, giving us suggestions on where to hike, what to see, and where to eat. We also were doing a little genealogical hunting, so she was able to give us useful pointers on where we might look for clues when the trail went dead. I would definitely recommend this place and we will use it again on our next trip to the area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ronbdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived a little frazzled after a slightly disappointing experience at another bed and breakfast. Ina was so clam and welcoming we immediately relaxed. She recommended an excellent restaurant after which we had an excellent nights sleep in out comfortable room. The view of the sheep grazing on the hill outside meant you couldn't help but relax. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend highly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pakiripost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location, amazing house and garden, and fabulous host.. what more could we ask for.
Christina, your house is a credit to you ! Not many people would be willing to welcome an 11 week old baby into their home, as we learned when booking a break in westport, but you did... Your warm welcome and friendly personality made our few days away so much more enjoyable ! The breakfast was lovely, loads of choice.. and the "homemade" scones.. yum yum :)
The bedroom we had was spotless, and spacious, allowing room for a travel cot, which was provided for us ! Great location, and easy to find ! There was plenty of parking space in the garden, 1 less thing to worry about when we could see the car from the bedroom window.
Thank - you :-)
We hope to return.. Soon !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
927 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
991 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,695 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quay West
Quay West
#14 of 70 in Westport
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurgan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurgan House B&B

Address: West Rd, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $81 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lurgan House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lurgan house bed and breakfast has 4 bed rooms en-suite on 1st floor,tea/coffee facilities in bedrooms also guest lounge on ground floor. fabulous mountain and sea views. Walking distance from Westport Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lurgan House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing