We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B that does everything right.”
Review of Lurgan House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lurgan House B&B
Ranked #16 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The B&B that does everything right.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just finished a 5 day stay at the Lurgan House on this our 7th trip to Ireland. If there is a nicer or more conscientious hostess in all of Ireland, we have yet to meet her. Ena (Christina) is wonderfully attentive without being intrusive, keeping the house spotless, and is an amazing cook always treating you with fresh baked goods. In addition to her great cooking, there is always plenty of fresh fruit on the buffet as well as other delicacies. The house itself, skillfully built by her husband Ger, who is equally welcoming, is the best of both worlds. Close enough to town to walk yet far enough to be in a peaceful setting surrounded by beautiful gardens and plenty of off street parking. The view from our room had a fantastic view of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay in the distance. There is a lovely back yard with a patio that can be used for a quiet cup of tea. In the garden is also a darling three bedroom self catering cottage which would be an excellent choice for a family or couples traveling together. To top it all off, in comparison to other B&B's in the area, it is an excellent value. We would give it our absolute highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the back with a lovely room and memory foam king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We used the family room which was sizable and very comfortable for the three of us. About a 15 minute walk from the centre of town, the B&B is quiet and set away from the late night noise but close enough to town. The proprietor was extremely welcoming and helpful, giving us suggestions on where to hike, what to see, and where to eat. We also were doing a little genealogical hunting, so she was able to give us useful pointers on where we might look for clues when the trail went dead. I would definitely recommend this place and we will use it again on our next trip to the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronbdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a little frazzled after a slightly disappointing experience at another bed and breakfast. Ina was so clam and welcoming we immediately relaxed. She recommended an excellent restaurant after which we had an excellent nights sleep in out comfortable room. The view of the sheep grazing on the hill outside meant you couldn't help but relax. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend highly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pakiripost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location, amazing house and garden, and fabulous host.. what more could we ask for.
Christina, your house is a credit to you ! Not many people would be willing to welcome an 11 week old baby into their home, as we learned when booking a break in westport, but you did... Your warm welcome and friendly personality made our few days away so much more enjoyable ! The breakfast was lovely, loads of choice.. and the "homemade" scones.. yum yum :)
The bedroom we had was spotless, and spacious, allowing room for a travel cot, which was provided for us ! Great location, and easy to find ! There was plenty of parking space in the garden, 1 less thing to worry about when we could see the car from the bedroom window.
Thank - you :-)
We hope to return.. Soon !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying in the self catering house located in the grounds of Lurgan House. The house was just great, spotlessly clean, lovely comfy beds, very adequately equipped and just a few mins walk from westport while maintaining a lovely country feel overlooking Croagh Patrick. Ina and Ger are the perfect hosts and we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere they create. Not to mention the lovely fresh baking dropped in twice during our visit, delicious! I would definitely recommend this house to families of younger or older children which was our situation and they all loved it too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the self catering but I would happily recommend the B & B option for couples or ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our third year in a row at Lurgan House. It is located a bit outside of town in a lovely location on a very small "lane" just off the Louisburgh Road. You could walk to town but we have chosen to drive. Out the back, there is a great view of Croagh Patrick and across the road sheep graze in a pasture.
This year Ena was away when we stayed. And frankly, the quality we have seen in our previous visits wasn't there. We were offered tea and snacks when we arrived which is always a positive! But we didn't feel the warmth we have in past years when Ena was there. In our room, there was tea making facilities--but no tea. (In fairness our traveling companion did have tea in her room but it was not ensuite which upset her some. I suppose it was our fault not specifying ensuite, but I don't see anything on the website about non-ensuite rooms. ) We also felt that the room was not as clean as has been the case in previous years.
Ena's daughter, who is helping run the B&B is working two other jobs. She was not there when we arrived but she is a lovely, friendly person and certainly tries her best.
Although our experience this year wasn't up to previous years, I wouldn't write the B&B off. Breakfast was good, the house is lovely, and we really like the location. We hope to stay again, possibly next year, and I'm sure all be be back to "normal".

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for an en suite room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here on June bank hol while doing the greenway. Ena who is a fantastic hostess greeted us with tea and biscuits. Our room was spotless, plenty is space and a great view of Croagh Patrick in the distance. Lurgan house is close enough to the town to walk but Ena kindly dropped us in which is great when you are wearing heels. Breakfast was superb with freshly baked scones , fresh fruit including pineapple slices and a great hot breakfast. Loved this B and B. Ena makes you feel totally at home. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvmygrubDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,075 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,070 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quay West
Quay West
#13 of 70 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurgan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurgan House B&B

Property: Lurgan House B&B
Address: West Rd, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lurgan House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lurgan house bed and breakfast has 4 bed rooms en-suite on 1st floor,tea/coffee facilities in bedrooms also guest lounge on ground floor. fabulous mountain and sea views. Walking distance from Westport Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Lurgan House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing