We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A BIG thank you”
Review of Lurgan House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lurgan House B&B
Ranked #18 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A BIG thank you”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just got back from a long weekend, staying in the self-catering cottage, next to the B&B. What a lovely setting overlooking Croagh Patrick and within walking distance of Westport. The cottage was fully equiped and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and could not do enough for us, Ena (the owner) even supplied lovely home-baked scones for our breakfast. Can not recommend this establishment enough - you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lurgan House is a beautiful B&B. It's quiet and beautifully decorated. Our room was very clean, spacious, and inviting. Our window overlooked Croagh Patrick (which we had hiked earlier in the day). The best part of this B&B is Ena (the owner). She is such a sweet lady who made us feel at home the minute we stepped inside. She gave us good tips on where to eat dinner and directions to our next destination. The breakfast was wonderful as she had just made scones. She even packed us a bag of scones to take with us for later in the day. You cannot ask for a better place to stay or a better proprietor. I highly recommend this B&B. When you travel to Ireland you always hear about the wonderful hospitality......well, Ena encompasses this and so much more. You should definitely stay here!

Room Tip: We had a triple room. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesabunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Arrived first time in "Lurgan House" after a long walk from Sligo in May 2000. Warm welcome was a relief after a long walk. Spent 2 nights and got all the help and support to carry on the walk to Leenaun. Came back second time in August 2000 to show my son and brother in law where I walked and stayed. Got one of the warmest welcome ever - felt like coming home after years. Managed it in 2012 to go there again with wife and son. Again got collected from bus station, got offered tea, sandwich and cake and had lots of talking – again felt being back with my "Irish family from Westport". Lurgan House is my No1 B&B in all the 15 years visiting this lovely country: super service, ask simple and you get help, absolutely lovely accommodation for all kid of trip you do.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect and quiet, kids can play in the garden or nearby playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was our second stay at Lurgan House and this will always be our B&B of choice when in Westport. It is conveniently located just outside town in a quiet rural setting, close to town and a short drive to Croagh Patrick. Ena and Ger are great. The breakfasts are exceptional and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Of the 20 or so B&Bs we have stayed at in Ireland this is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I think this B&B is a really good place to stay in Westport. It is a bit outside the city centre in very quiet surrondings... The house is beautiful and very well maintained.

When we were there, it was full and so in the morning, we had to wait a bit for breakfast but all in all, I would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

On a recent return visit to the Westport area, we found a gem of a B&B. Ena and Ger run a comfortable, clean and conveniently close-to-town establishment. Lovely accommodation, delicious and generous Irish breakfast with fresh homemade scones, the best of Irish warmth, and just a very good feeling all in all. Westport, of course, sparkles -- as does Lurgan House. Can't wait to come back to this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed for a week at Lurgan House B+B in Westport for hiking in October. The B+B is situated perfectly between the lively town centre (10 minutes walk) and the quay (20 minutes walk) on a quiet side road with ample parking. We had a double room to the back with fantastic views of Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick. Room was of good size with a small cupboard and spotlessy clean. Host Ena pampered us with a tasty Irish breakfast every morning which helped us to get through our daily hikes. Not to mention the home baked scones and Brown Bread. She also provides you with all the necessary local knowledge you need for your stay. Rely on her restaurant and pub recommendations which were perfect without exception but turn to her husband for the latest weather forecast!
We stayed in many B+B’s on numerous visits to Ireland up to now but Lurgan House is definitely on the top of the list.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodside Lodge
Woodside Lodge
#3 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adare House
Adare House
#8 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.0 mi away
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
#6 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurgan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurgan House B&B

Property: Lurgan House B&B
Address: Lurgan House Lurgan House West Rd | Westport county Mayo., Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lurgan House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lurgan house bed and breakfast has 4 bed rooms en-suite on 1st floor,tea/coffee facilities in bedrooms also guest lounge on ground floor. fabulous mountain and sea views. Walking distance from Westport Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Lurgan House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing