We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just found it while walking around town...”
Review of Madden's Bistro

Madden's Bistro
Ranked #32 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $48
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Madden's Bistro is a classy bustling restaurant in the heart of Westport Co. Mayo, and is popular with everyone, guests, locals and visitors alike to the Clew Bay Hotel. The stylish design is a perfect foil for the adjoining Madden's Bar. Let your taste buds test us, try seafood, traditional roasts or some continental classic dishes. Monday to Friday: 12.30 hrs. to 15.30 hrs. and 17.30 hrs. to 21.00 hrs. Saturday: 12.30 hrs. to 21.30 hrs. Sunday: 12:30 hrs. to 21:00 hrs. Snack menu available Monday to Friday from 12.30 hrs. to 17.30 hrs., and Saturday from 12:30 hrs. to 17:00 hrs.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just found it while walking around town...”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a very long, hot arrival day in July we were looking for a respite and found this comfortable place. Indoors was a little warm as it had been in the 80's f that day. They gave a nice table on the side patio and we had a very nice leisurely meal with great service. They were very helpful awith some special requests and we all enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RepomanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    58
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch and service excellent”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Called into maddens for lunch Saturday very friendly and efficient staff .Started with tea outside a lovely and warm and lovely view of old mill building also as too early to eat so asked for papers to browse and they were brought .

Moved to restaurant for lunch as a bit nippy outside and it was lovely I had chicken in sweet chile sauce on ciabatta bread with chips everything tip top my sister had the toasted brie sandwich on brown proclaimed to die for and very reasonable €20.00 for the lot and included 2 teas and a coffee. . Also catered for small children with play area room off restaurant quite on sat but a good idea if you have small kids not so good for diners it too many I suppose.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
2 reviews
“ICEBURG AHEAD”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited this restaurant recently with my boyfriend,based on the reviews it has on tripadvisor we thought this place sounded and looked great....we were sadly mistaken!!!

From the get go it was slowly going down hill,we were not greeted as we waited to be seated...the waitress was sharp and snappy when giving menus..although I must say the kind waiter who was dressed in a suit (presumably management) was very kind!

The waitress did not seem to know much information about the "special" mussels and chips,and I had the homemade burger!! The food was very quick and were given big portions but once again the waitress did not intend to duties such as providing sauces and vinegar,and then to not even check on table!!!

For dessert!!......I asked for warm chocolate cake and ice cream......I got cold cake and in place of not having ice cream half an ice burger ice cream...my boyfriend got the other half!!!

Won't be back anytime soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayolass91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omagh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food but busy place”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staying in hotel so was handy. Was very busy at 7pm so difficult to get a seat. Waitress organised two tables in bar and pulled in stools. Very uncomfortable as no where to reserved my back. Ordered food and was delicious. However realised I was'my really hungry so the lovely fish and chips were wasted. Good idea of restaurant to give jugs of water before asking what drinks to order,as we were happy with water. Of course kids had to have chocolate cake.looked really rich but they enjoyed it. Lovely restaurant but need to get there early for comfy seat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OmaghSinglemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mussels and Chips”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well worth a visit for their amazing mussels and chips offer. Fresh seafood at its best! One cautionary point is that the house wine selection was not all that great. It is worth it to bump up to the next level to enjoy a glass with the meal

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cranberry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madden's Bistro also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Madden's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing