We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will be returning!:)”
Review of Altamont B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Altamont B&B
Ranked #11 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork in Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely will be returning!:)”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Cosy, clean and comfortable B&B. Tea and homemade scones offered on arrival by Mary. Mary is definitely the 'Hostess with the Mostess'!! Beautiful landscape garden and tasty breakfast offered in the morning. Enjoyed my stay here in the Altamont B&B, and will definitely be returning....:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summermadness07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
60
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It was our first time visiting this part of Ireland. The scenery is spectacular, the people are really welcoming and the town of Westport is an excellent place to stay with great places to eat and good music - although this was a bit late for us! But what really made our visit was staying with Mary at Altamont House. It is a lovely homely B and B where you will be well looked after. A fantastic freshly cooked breakfast everyday - the most lovely porridge and full Irish all made with fresh ingredients. Then anything you need including borrowing a stout stick to climb Croagh Patrick. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Loved every minute of my stay here. Lovely hospitality by Mary, and a gorg garden to sit in and have the many cups of tea and treacle bread on offer...
Would def stay again.
Thanks Mary!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieburke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Mary's Altamont B&B was homey and a most pleasant place to stay. Had I planned ahead of time I would have stayed more than one night. Mary is a wonderful hostess- so happy and full of zest- and her cooking was tops as well.

I'll be back Mary- you can count on that!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Located near bus and train station both within 5 mins walk .Mary was there with tea a nd home made scones The kitchen was always open for you to make drinks and scones and bisciuts were always at hand The breakfast was extensive and freshly made One guest had asked to try porridge as he had never had it but after a spoonful decided it wasnt for him No problem Mary made him scrambled eggs etc.Anything you wanted and more was there As a single traveller I am used to small rooms Here I had a large room with choice of single or double bed and plenty ofwardrobe space Mary was always ready for a chat and advice as to where to go and where to shop

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

When we arrived at the Altamont House Mary quickly had a pot of tea and muffins, and bisquits set out and we had such a nice conversation with her. When she saw how much luggage and space problems we had for three sharing a room she gave my sister a separate room next to ours at no charge. The breakfasts were great and individually made. The location is away from the noise of the center of Westport but a very short walk to get there. She gave us great restaurant reccommendations and pubs also and all were excellent. One day we looked a bit tired and she offered to run us in her car to where we wanted to go in the city. Several more times she offered tea or coffee and muffins/biscuits and it truly felt like we were visiting a relative.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cajunyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,031 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont B&B

Property: Altamont B&B
Address: Altamont Street/Balinrobe Road R330, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing