We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super day out”

Clare Island Ferry Co.
Ranked #12 of 45 things to do in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Official Ferry Company servicing Clare Island since 1880. Daily sailings all year around (weather permitting). Book online for reduced fares.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super day out”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were very lucky with this trip as we had very good weather all the time we were there (one day). We went walking and there were well marked routes of differing distances.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank judithelizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excelelnt Trip”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

In the summer there are two ferries going to Clare Island. We took the all year round ferry which is also the mail boat. It was a beautiful trip and Clare Island is spectacular.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquinasduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent the day on Clare Island in the off season so everything was closed, but it was one of the best days we had in Ireland. We walked about 8 miles around the island at the end of the day we attended a community Christmas Festival and were warmly welcomed as the only non residents on Clare that day and it was outstanding! Many thanks to Rory and his wife for a friendly welcome and point in the right direction.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teded001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburgh, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks for coming back!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were a couple of minutes late arriving by bike for the 8.30am ferry, but when the crew saw my husband waving at them, they came back and helped us on board. It was so nice of them, as we would have had to wait until 11am for the next one. This was our second trip on this ferry and we have been lucky both times to have good conditions. The crew are helpful and it is interesting to see the provisions for the island being loaded and unloaded. This is first and foremost a working ferry for the inhabitants of the island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great trip to a beautiful island”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Easy to get to,quick trip over,about 30 minutes ,spectacular views and an really amazing island,some of the directions fpr the walks are a little confusing,a really beautiful place to visit,recommend staying for the day and getting the last boat at 6pm,excellent trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrieGoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clare Island Ferry Co. also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Clare Island Ferry Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing