We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
Review of JWs Brasserie

JWs Brasserie
Ranked #29 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a great quality and fantastic value dining experience – the very best that Westport has to offer - at JW's Brasserie at The Wyatt Hotel, Westport. JW's Brasserie's award-winning Head Chef Eoin McDonnell prepares fresh, innovative, locally sourced produce and makes JW's the ideal venue for a delicious lunch or the perfect place to enjoy a mouth-watering evening meal. Offering an extensive wine list, and with something to suit every taste, JW's Brasserie is the place to eat in Westport.
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had booked for a party of 20 and had opted for the €60 per couple meal that included a bottle of wine. The staff, the service, the setting and the food were all excellent. There was an extensive choice on the menu with very generous portions. The staff were incredibly efficient with all our our meals arriving together. I would highly recommend this restaurant for both value and quality of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    88
    38
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice lunch with the dogs!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch, it is a dog friendly hotel, sat in the beer garden and had a good crab sandwich lovely fresh crab, hubby had a good chicken wrap. As had the lunch pub grub bit on the expensive side. Had few drinks here on Sunday might great music just clean the loos!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anniek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but ...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

JW's had been recommended to us as particularly good for families, and indeed the children enjoyed their dinners (especially dessert!). But the adults had some issues, particularly with the service. We were there on a Tues night, with a 630pm reservation, and the place was already hopping. The first waitress who took our order disappeared - and our wine order disappeared with her (although other beverages, including beer, were served promptly). We had ordered two bottles of wine, and it was a good 15 minutes before they were delivered- and then only after asking the waiter who happened to serve our starters. He served the remainder of our meal - and while he often seemed to be in a rush (were they short staffed, that evening?), he was very pleasant and willingly fetched whatever was requested. Most of our meals were fine, although the sea bass had a lot of bones in it and did not impress those who had it, and the sweet-potato-Gorgonzola Wellington was ... well, kind of a strange combination, to be honest. Prices were quite reasonable (this was the least expensive meal we had in Westport) and while it was clearly a popular spot, unfortunately I think it suffered in comparison to some other, smaller restaurants where they had the luxury of time to pay attention to detail, thus providing us with a more enjoyable dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJCavanaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We ate here based on a recommendation from the owner of our B & B. we went for the €60 for 2 special which is a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine. The food was excellent & overall great value. Staff very professional & attentive. A most enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The €8 lunch menu is awful. Cheap, nasty and reheated.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I went to JW's for lunch as the last meal before we departed Westport. The restaurant looks lovely and the menu seemed pretty good so I was really excited to try a nice lunch out. For starters we both choose from the regular menu - the mussells and they were really nice. They came with a lovely sauce and wheaten bread and we thoroughly enjoyed those. For main course we both ended up picking from the €8 lunch menu, just because the two items sounded nice...BIG MISTAKE! I had smoked haddock on champ and my husband had the battered hake and chips. I knew as soon as they arrived at the table that my haddock was way overcooked. The entire surface was rock hard and it was like eating cardboard. My husband's hake was even worse. There is no doubt that it was refried. The batter has gone black on one side and the fish was so so dry. The chips also appeared reheated. We have never sent food back before but we just had to. I think if JW's wants to serve an €8 menu they should ensure that the quality is good, or not bother. People are not stupid. We would have been happy to pay €20 for our main, but this experience has meant we will never return. Awful, awful, awful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JWs Brasserie also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to JWs Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing