We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

T & M Co. Tipperary

Felt very welcome. Patrice even offered to drive us in to town when we enquired about getting a taxi. Recommended excellent places to eat. Represents very good value for money. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandM0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    68
    19
    18
    2
See reviews for
151
327
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Just come back from staying in Westport for 5 days for a wedding and we had a wonderful time. We loved Westport and if you have time definitely worth venturing out as the scenery is beautiful up in Delphi mountains and Achill Island etc, the people are lovely and we cant wait to come back as so much that we didnt manage to see. Helen and Patrice are lovely and make you feel so at home, they were fully booked when we arrived but they still managed to find time to speak to us and show an interest and make us feel at home. Patrice even gave us and some friends a lift to the wedding venue which was so kind of him and the home baked scones made by Patrice every morning were gorgeous and went down well with everyone staying! Bed was massive and extremely comfortable and it is about a 10 - 15 minute walk into town which is great and good to walk off the guinness! All in all we had a great time made even better by the friendliness of Helen and Patrice and very good value for money. Cant wait to come back to Wesport, thanks Helen and Patrice....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We found the owner very welcoming, gave us good recommendations for dinner. The room was large and very comfortable. It was very quiet at night. We had to go downstairs for the internet to work: this was being improved.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Having seen the lovely pictures on line of the location & booking 3 months in advance we did not expect to to put in the basement room facing the laundry hanging on the line & hearing the noise of early morning activity in the kitchen which we were located next to. However the bed was comfortable, the room was spacious & clean & the lovely renovated bathroom with a full tub was very nice. We never did met the hostess Helen & Patrice did not seem to be expecting us when we arrived. He did not offer any suggestions of where to eat or what to do in the area & was in a rush to deal with us. We ended up only staying one night rather than the two we had booked & would suggest to skip this place altogether.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

... well, anything you desire in a B&B.

Helen's and Patrice's B&B is located slightly out of town, but near enough to reach all part by walk.
Their warm welcome was a part of sunshine in a rainy Irish day.The room was spacious, the bed really huge,the breakfast delicous

A great address in Westport

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

We liked our stay at the woodside lodge very much. Helen was very friendly and the twin room was large and nice beds. It's a 20 min. walk to the centre of Westport which is a very nice town. We arrived at Sunday at it was very busy in the pubs at night. Helen said it's the best day going out in Westport because Friday and Saterday evenings are to busy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

OVERALL
Overall the Woodside B&B is 9.9 out of 10 (near perfect) and highly recommended. Helen and Patrice are really great hosts and could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. The rooms appear reasonably spacious, and the bed we had was very comfortable indeed. Small en-suite bathroom was more than adequate. Breakfast hit the spot, with a good selection of cereal, fried or continental. We simply can not fault this B&B and really hope to return again in the near future.
YOU NEED TO APPRECIATE
The B&B is not in the town centre, however this is a GOOD THING as this cuts out the traffic noise / people leaving the pubs. It is approx. 0.5 mile to the town centre and took my pregnant wife and I less than 10 minutes to walk it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTripper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
3.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Lodge

Property: Woodside Lodge
Address: Woodside Lodge Golfcourse Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helen and Patrice Goberville are your hosts at this superb B&B accommodation set in it own grounds on Golf Links Road, Westport, just five minutes walk from the town centre. This spacious residence has a seclusion and serenity that belies its closeness to the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing