We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good menu and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mill Times Hotel Westport
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good menu and food”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We visited westport and we had dinner here .This is a little bit off beaten track in westport but we looked at the menu and also noted it had several awards in 2011,2012.We entered and were given a friendly greeting. The menu is quite comprehensive and seafood is good .Prices were resasonable for the quality of the food and the presentation of the food was good.Overall this place is good value for the quality of food produced. Did not particulary like the decor but this personal taste and so if you looking for sleek elegant hotel this is not really it, more old world charm but still nice in its own right

Room Tip: Try the seafood special if its on.Also the burger the hotel does is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildIrishRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear WildIrishRover, Thank you for your review and your positive feedback of Temptations Restaurant, we hope to welcome you back to Westport and the Mill Times Hotel in the future, Warm Regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    256
    62
    32
    27
See reviews for
171
403
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killybegs, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

From the minute we arrived the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The receptionist were very friendly and nothing was a problem. The staff in the bar and restaurant were also very nice and the food was amazing. The hotel is central to everything. The room were clean and very confortable... This hotel is well worth a visit. I will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Carol M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted to read your positive feedback, and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Westport in the near future, Warm Regards from Westport, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Myself and my family stayed at the Mill Times hotel to celebrate my 30th birthday. From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen well. Staff were friendly,courteous and created a homely atmosphere.The receptionists were very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble.Rooms were comfortable clean and good value. Hotel location is central and convenient.Extra thanks to restaurant manager Pauline and her staff who went out of their way to make the already delicious meal extra special. The restaraunt had a varied menu to suit all tastes.Breakfast was also delicious.We had a great experience here and would definately recommend the mill times hotel.Thanks to all the staff for a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Ruth D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal in Temptations Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mill Times Hotel Westport in the future. Warm Regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

It is perfectly located and has underground car parking. The receptionist was very helpful and check-in easy. (some other hotels could learn from this). It has a large bar area and also does bar food as well as having a fine restaurant. There is free wi-fi in the hotel, though I couldn't manage to get a strong enough connection on the 3rd floor. Rooms were large and comfortable. Bathroom was also spacious. Room had tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. There was also a flat screen TV and bottled water for the guests. The curtains were large enough and thick enough to fully darken the room. I like that the cold part of the breakfast was buffet type, while the cooked part was cooked to order and therefore fresh and hot. There is a nice bright lobby area for just relaxing with a coffee and newspaper and even a bit of people watching.

There is very little to dislike about this hotel, but I will mention some small gripes that would not prevent me from staying there again. Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 and we were down for 9 each morning. At that time most of the tables had been set for lunch or dinner which gave very little choice as to where we could sit. There were 3 of us. Both mornings we were offered a table for 2 with an extra chair, which I refused as it would have been too cramped. We were given a larger table without complaint, but all this gave us the impression that we were making a bit of a nuisance of ourselves and upsetting existing plans. I would like the wi-fi to have extended to our 3rd floor room. I didn't like the plastic shower curtains, but at least they didn't cling. I would have liked to have had a removable shower head. These are all very small things and I would return there in an instant. I mention them only to help the hotel improve.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is non smoking, but also poor or non-existent wi-fi. So if wi-fi is important, give them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear wearb, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your feedback is important, I will bring it to the attention of the Management Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

went for a weekend away with the girls!!can not talk highly enough of the staff,so friendly and down to earth!they really made sure we were looked after and we were seven demanding women!special thanks to anthony the night porter,made us tea and toast and has great patience.will definately go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Laura M, Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times. It is just off the main street and as such is very central. The underground car park is small and you have to take things slowly as it has tight corners. There is a fast food outlet across the road , which can be noisey at weekends but don't let either of these two things put you off. The food is excellent, with a menu that has never been the same on any of our visits and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are great and clean and they had kids entertainment on weekends when we were there.

Room Tip: If staying at weekends specify that you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear marcus m, Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Having had bar food iin this hotel twice we decided to take friends for a meal in their much publicised restaurant. The staff were friendly but the food was so disappointing. The starters were Ok- not exciting, just average. The main course was so poor. Three of us had the half duck which was tiny, more like a half sparrow, and tough. The vegetables were not "al dente" they were uncooked and cold. The cheese board at 6.5 euros consisted of two malteser sized balls of cheese and a small 1" square wafer thin. The celery mentioned on the menu did not materialise. When more cheese was asked for two extra tiny balls were presented nad charged at an extra 5.5 euros. Need I say more?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Good Evening Shirley M,
Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that our usual standard was not up to your expectation. I was sorry to read you felt the portions were small, we are normally complimented on the contrary. However I have relayed your feedback to our head chef as we take all comments and feedback on board. I have checked your bill and the €5.50 charge was the fourth person's selection of Ice-cream. This guest did not have the full dinner menu hence was not charged the full dinner price, instead this person was charged for a main course and dessert in accordance to what this person had. Thank you again for taking the time to post your reviews. Kind regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Times Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Times Hotel Westport

Property: Mill Times Hotel Westport
Address: Mill Street | Town Centre, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Business Hotel in Westport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Times Hotel Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3 star central hotel - The Mill Times Hotel Westport offers a stylish oasis in the middle of the thriving town of Westport. We have undergone major refurbishments in what was The Westport Inn Hotel with friendly and welcoming staff to cater for your individual needs. The complete makeover consisted of Uncle Sam's Cafe Bar, Temptations Restaurant and the O'Malley Conference & Banquet Suite. All our guests rooms are en-suite with bath and overhead shower and equipped with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & trouser press, wifi. Complimentary limited car parking also available on a first come first served basis, otherwise very reasonable public parking available adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mill Times Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Times Boutique Hotel
Mill Times Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing