We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, food is lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in July. First impressions are of a lovely hotel in the countryside (about 3 mins drive to westport centre). Bedroom was lovely, big and comfortable, bed was huge! our room was to the front so when anyone sat outside the bar we could hear eveyrthing which was a little annoying. bathroom also very nice but the shower door didn't contain the water so we flooded the floor every time we showered.. felt bad for the cleaners dealing with sopping towels! breakfast was only ok, buffet quite sparse, cooked breakfast ok. Had dinner one night too, it was bar food more so than a restuarant. saltiest chowder i have ever tasted and greasy fish and chips.. wasn't overly impressed. Hoever staff were friendly and bedroom was lovely so overall would recommend it, but eat in westport!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Westport Country Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Good potential for this hotel once they pay attention to some basics such as housekeeping and maintenance - does not take a lot to fix a light globe- there was two working and 3 not in room 109 and also make a bed properly. Also some basics such as providing towels for 3 people in a (booked) triple share room.
Nice location but outside town quite a bit.
No wifi available as advertised. Originally the receptionist said it was down temporarily, awaiting"someone " to fix. 2 days later another receptionist had no idea as to if/when it might be working again or did not know that it had not been working- perhaps the staff could communicate when changing shifts.

Room Tip: check the maintenance
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for two nights over Reek Sunday weekend. Staff very pleasant and helpful, room comfy and clean and breakfasts very tasty. Slightly out of town but only €7 in a taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Booked this hotel as had good reviews and got a reasonable rate for the time of year. Location is quiet countryside and that suited fine. The accomodation is spacious, nicely decorated and beds are comfortable. There were a few maintenance issues between the rooms: blown lightbulbs, blinds that would not pull up, a tricky toilet flush mechanism and one of the 3 rooms had a dampness issue and probably should not have been made available to guests. Some housekeeping issues such as missing hairdryers, tears along seams in duvet covers and insufficient towels. However, all issues were dealt with promptly once raised and staff seemed anxious to be informed. Actaully this was one of the main pros for the hotel i.e. friendly staff. That said, service was variable without any apparent reason. Food was good and portion sizes generous. However, instant coffee was served after one dinner without any consultation. The bar seems to be frequented by friendly and welcoming locals which we found nice. The hotel is child friendly and there is a waterfeature at the front which was popular. The hotel provided a bouncy castle but it did suffer a tear in the floor fabric.
At check out, the rates on our rooms did not tally - the twin room was charged the triple rate and vice versa. We had requested a room switch on check-in which was granted and documented but did not seem to have made it on to the computer. The onus seemed to be put back on us that we should have requested the rate change as well as the room change but it seemed reasonable to assume that that would automatically follow!!
This hotel is nice and has great potential. It does need some attention to detail and has a feel that standards have slipped. I would return and hope to find that a nurturing back to full health has taken place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in Country Lodge for a week and all I can say is I wish I was back their again. The staff couldn't do enough to make you comfortable and welcome. The room we had was divine -- huge comfortable bed and lovely decor. The chef should get a reward as his food and presentation was excellent -- diet this week. Also no rush at breakfast was served up to 10.30 and same with meals in the evening.Just be aware as it is approx 6km from westport so a taxi would be needed if you want to go for a drink to the town. It is an ideal location for a quiet relaxing getaway. We hope to return again.

Room Tip: Room 111 has excellent view of Croach Padraig
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clotmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We first visited this hotel in July 2010 and loved it so much we decided to choose it as our wedding venue! On the advice of Katie at the hotel we booked Ballintubber Abbey for our wedding ceremony, which is a magical place, in a stunning setting.
Our wedding took place in July 2011 and we couldn't have asked for a better venue.
Della and the staff gave us 5star treatment for the entire weekend.All the staff were accommodating and couldn't have been more helpful to us and our families.
The rooms were as fantastic as ever. All the guests complimented the size and cleanliness of the rooms.
The food at both breakfast and dinner was first class and catered for all dietary requirements. The night before our wedding a large number of guests placed food orders close to the kitchens closing time but staff were were more than obliging to cater for us all.
Our wedding day was entirely relaxed and extremely enjoyable which was only made possible by the hotel location and the staff on the day. The photo opportunities in the grounds of the hotel were a major bonus and allowed us to get some fantastics pictures on the day. The reception room was bright and beautifully decorated.
As a wedding venue we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Due to the size of the hotel we were able to have exclusive use for the weekend and Della even arranged a bouncy castle for the younger guests and music for us the day after the wedding.
We are already looking forward to our next stay in the westport country lodge!

Thanks for making our wedding day so perfect!

Claire & Cathal

Room Tip: All rooms very spacious. Rooms facing to the front of the hotel provide a beautiful view of Croagh P...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckelly121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed at the Westport Country Lodge Hotel in July of this year with the fiancee, were 29 and 25 and looking for a bit of a romantic weekend away/knees up in the town. Firstly I was dispointed by the hotel location and i found little or actually no signs to find it, had to ask 2 locals. Its about 4-5 miles from Westport which meant a taxi each night if your going socialising which we were, taxi cost €7 each way. Met by a very inexperienced barman upon arrival, asked what lagers where on draught, he told us 3 or 4 so herself ordered a pint of budweiser, he came back shortly saying they actually didnt have budweiser on tap, then she ordered a pint of coors light and he came back with bottles of coors light. We then ordered food of the barman. I went to pay the bill and he had forgotten all about the drinks that we had had earlier, luckily Im too nice and reminded him!.....anyway bad start with the inexperienced barman over with, the receptionist was very nice, helpful and welcoming with a warm smile. Interior of hotel was very nice. The room we stayed in was surprisingly big, comfortable and clean with a nice view of mountains (but not croagh patrick). Id rate food 7/10 - found one hair in cheesecake but genuinely otherwise than this it was very nice food - breakfast = top notch, john joe local taxi man = top notch. Would possibly stay here again but would look elsewhere first next time im going to westport pure and simply for location wise, not fond on forking out on taxis in and out of town every night.

Room Tip: the room was the best part of the hotel, beds huge and comfy and springy :)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
3.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
3.7 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
974 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Country Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Country Lodge Hotel

Address: | Aughagower, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Westport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $70 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Country Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport Country Lodge Hotel provides guests “Traditional Hospitality” that the West of Ireland is famous for. Located just 3km from the award winning town of Westport, on grounds that stretch over 36 acres and an uninterrupted view of Ireland’s most famous mountain; Croagh Patrick, The Westport Country Lodge Hotel is the perfect location; presenting traditional Irish hospitality with the peace and tranquillity you cannot get in town. The Westport Country Lodge Hotel provides guests with the ultimate getaway at affordable prices, giving you value for your money and a real taste of Irish countryside. All our rooms are non-smoking and there are a variety of room types to choose from most of which enjoy stunning views of the local countryside and Croagh Patrick. Immerse yourself in the peace & comfort of one of our spacious, individually designed 21 guest rooms. Relax and enjoy; • Super King Beds • Egyptian Cotton bed linen • Flat Screen TV • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities • Complimentary Toiletries • Hair Dryer • Direct Dial Telephone Marrying traditional with modern, our hotel never disappoints our guests who do not want to sacrifice comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Westport Country Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Country Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing