We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Adare House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adare House
Ranked #8 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Adare House and experienced wonderful hospitality. Our room was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and breakfast was of a high standard. Within easy walking distance of the town and the Quay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnS060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
104
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here on 5th June 2012 as part of a motorcycle tour around Ireland. Margaret greeted us in the front car park as soon as we arrived, offering refreshments immediately.
We were given the option of parking at the front or in the more secure rear car park with locked gates.Secure parking is important to bikers.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, all en suite.
Ideally located within a short walk to the town, as Margaret says "just 7 minutes :-)"
Breakfast was brilliant, basically as much as you wanted and all delicious, and all while enjoying stunning views through the dining room window.
Would definitely recommend to anyone,but specifically bikers, and will certainly stay here again.
(review on behalf of Steven Clark- my hubby)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the Adare House B&B for one night during our trip around Ireland. The B&B is located half way between the city center and the quay on a little hill. Our room was a very nice room with a fantastic view of Croagh Patrick. The bedroom and the common living room felt very warm and cozy. The hosts were extremely nice and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. I would definitely recommend Adare House to anyone visiting Westport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very nice room, clean, comfortable and warm. Close to restaurants and shops. Staff very friendly and helpful, food was very good, a great Irish Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actuallymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Connemara, County Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This B&B is owned by a lovely married couple who even gave us walking sticks for Croagh Patrick! - it really is only 7 mins from the town centre, breakfast was nice with a view of Croagh Patrick. Cycled the Greenway the next day - the bike rental place (clew bay bikes) was only a 10 minute walk from the B&B - Clew Bay Bikes great to deal with , they dropped us to Achill sound

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totwoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy M, Owner at Adare House, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. it was very thoughtful. The cycle way between Westport and Achill Island is very popular and more and more people are cycling. Hope to see you back in Westport before too long.

Regards............Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Recently stayed at the Madigan's B & B. We were first received by Christi (sorry for any misspelling of his name) and the next day by Margaret. Both were exceptional in their hospitality, courtesy and entertaining us. Our B & B was situated such that we were able to see Croah Patrick which we had just that day somehow managed to climb. Their B & B, both the accomodations and breakfast (we stayed for two nights) were excellent. Their home is perfectly situated such that one can walk into Town and not have to concern him or herself if you choose to have that extra pint or two. While techically a "townhouse" given its proximity to the center of Westport, we did not feel as though we were too close or sacrificing anything due to its location. A wonderful experience and a place we will again visit when we head back to Ireland and County Mayo. Slainte. Jim and Michelle

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night recently. Our room on the ground floor faced the street - quite busy at times so you might want to ask for a room upstairs and/or at the back. The room was a nice surprise - large. Equally, it had a large bathroom with a separate shower an bath. Toiletries provided included bubble bath. Shower was smallish and a largish person would just squeeze in. Toilt flush lever needed adjusting, otherwise, a very large bathroom and bedrom for a B&B. Lighting was poor, maybe because they used energy efficient globes.

Anyway, room was cosy and comfortable with everything you could want.

Breakfasts were typical B&B - either continental or full Irish - made to ordeer. Plenty of food and fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt are also available for guests.

Parking was awkward, but at least we parked off-street.

B&B hosts weree lovely.

Only real complaint was noise from other guests (not sure if it came from next door or above) but we had to yell to ask them to turn down their tv. Also, walls/floors allowed alot of noise through (people walking around).

A delightful B&B that we highly recommend. Very clean!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room upstairs an/or at the back as the rooms on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodside Lodge
Woodside Lodge
#3 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare House

Property: Adare House
Address: Adare House Quay Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adare House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run Bed & Breakfast has 6 tastefully decorated bedrooms all of which are fully equipped with Free WIFI, remote control TVs, tea/coffee facilities and en-suite facilities with hair dryer. We are only a few minutes walk from both the town centre and Westport Harbour. Unique and charming, the heritage town of Westport is a captivating blend of traditional and modern. So go on and treat yourselves to a well deserved holiday in a friendly and relaxing house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing