We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base - Westport”
Review of Adare House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adare House
Ranked #8 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Base - Westport”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Ideally located just about 5 minutes walk from the town centre, this B&B was a great find! Margaret was incredibly helpful and informative, the uttmost professional. The B&B was spacious, homely and very comfortable with good sized en-suite bedrooms, all at a reasonable price. Locationwise, it was perfect for exploring Westport town, it was really close to the quays and Westport House was only down the road. Likewise, it was a great base for Croagh Patrick, Achill and Connemara!

Thanks Margaret....Alan & Crios!

Room Tip: Get a room to the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    32
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
112
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Great beds and a lovely lounge, coupled with warm, friendly hosts made our stay in Westport memorable. This B&B is very conveniently located to explore not only Westport, but Achill Island and Connemara.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Still can't understand sept. review, adare house is located on the main road & is very close to the town centre. Margaret & Christy made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable & it certainly was.We have travelled a fair bit in our lifetime to date & i can say sincerely we have never been treated better in this country or any other.Adare house was booked after a Scottish trip had to be cancelled at short notice & we were not dissappointed with this choice : an excellent location, excellent food & genuinely attentive staff & owners,many thanks for an excellent stay,Alex & Maybeth (Ballymena)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyrussell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

a bit hard to find since it's aff the main road. The staff did their jobs well just didn't seem like they were trying very hard to please. Rooms were fine though.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babychild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying for four days, recently, at Adare House; Quay Road in Westport, Co. Mayo,Ireland. The room was spacious, immaculate and neat. The Irish breakfast was wonderful and cooked to your liking. The view from the dining room is of Croagh Patrick, and it was breathtaking. I highly recommend Adare House if you are just passing through or staying in Westport. It is an easy walk into town as well.
Thank you Adare House for making my stay very pleasant!

Patrick J. Dwyer, Syracuse, New York

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cordarraugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Initial picture of the Adare House was its view from a hill, absolutely beautiful. Immediately upon entering the house you knew it was clean. Margaret was warm, friendly and welcoming. We found our room extremely comfortable with a great view. Bathroom was clean with a good shower. We all agreed the Adare House deserved 5 stars! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Overall a great job Margaret! We missed you for several nights following our stay with you. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We didn't have a reservation for Adare House but saw a vacant sign and pulled in. We were welcomed with coffee and tea and a lovely room. The room was a nice size and had a great view of Croagh Patrick. It was close enough to walk to the city center of Westport, less than 10 minutes away, although uphill on the way back. We had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was on an enclosed porch and was very lovely in the morning. The food was great and lots of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_in_itasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,042 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare House

Property: Adare House
Address: Adare House Quay Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adare House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run Bed & Breakfast has 6 tastefully decorated bedrooms all of which are fully equipped with Free WIFI, remote control TVs, tea/coffee facilities and en-suite facilities with hair dryer. We are only a few minutes walk from both the town centre and Westport Harbour. Unique and charming, the heritage town of Westport is a captivating blend of traditional and modern. So go on and treat yourselves to a well deserved holiday in a friendly and relaxing house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing