We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buckfield Inn Westport
Nearby Hotels
$187
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$183
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
$156
$132
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clew Bay Hotel(Westport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
67
11
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
11
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall pubb and bgaelic coffeelovely quiet locationbreakfast was excellenta wonderful place to staynext morningstayed one nightenjoyed our staycaramelpaulhostessfitzgeraldaccommodationirelandgreenwayund
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 80 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our 11 day trip through Ireland, we spent two nights at Buckfield Inn. We were very warm welcomed and enjoyed a quiet stay in a very nice and modern room. The breakfast was excellent and there was always a chance to have a chat with the landlady. We got information about what to see in the surrundings (Achill Island is really a "must see") and were offered to get bycicles organised. So we enjoyed our stay and would really like to come back next time.

Das Haus ist eine klare Empfehlung. Etwas außerhalb von Westport kann man in absoluter Ruhe herrlich entspannen und ruhig schlafen. Das Haus ist sehr familiär und gemütlich. Die sehr warmherzige und freundliche Wirtin hat uns mit Kaffee und Keksen empfangen und Empfehlungen zu Ausflügen in die Umgebung gemacht. Das wunderbare Frühstück wurde ausgesprochen liebevoll bereitet. Wir würden gern noch einmal ins Buckfield Inn kommen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludwig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There are fancier places in my experience; but none friendlier than this place. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and en suite facilities modern and functional. It's not common that I ask for less breakfast than what is available, but the full breakfast offered was way more than I could handle. The B&B is three miles from Westport and four or so from Newport TheGreat Western Greenway trail is one Km away and a two or three hour walk gets you to either town. I spent four days walking the small roads and trails around this place and believe I got to see and meet the true Irish people. Evenings in their pub with proprietors Carmel and Paul Fitzgerald and a cross section of rural and towns people who came by for a pint were the highlight of my trip.

If you are car-less like I am, call the taxi when you get off the bus or train in Westport and Brendan Mc Ging, who has an untertaker/taxi business will pick you up and take you to Buckfield. Strange but true.

Room Tip: If you an early to bed person, the rooms at the back of the second floor are remote from the pub. The noise from the pub on Fri and Sat. Nights was not disagreeable. Lots of families are in the pub so its not rowdy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Compared with good hotels both in Westport town and beyond, this was very poor value for money. The room was tired, dated and quite cold, although it was clean. The bathroom was in serious need of refurbishment and the quality of the ingredients in the "Irish breakfast" was disappointing. Carmel, is I am sure a very nice person, but we felt both the Bed and the Breakfast were sadly lacking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Westport at the Buckfield Inn, and it was a phenomenal experience. Carmel went above and beyond--and that is no exaggeration--to accommodate us, making us feel 100% welcomed and taken care of at all times. Our room was super clean and cosy. All meals (breakfast and dinner) were extremely fresh, filling, and delicious, and our caring hostess made sure that we were completely happy at all times, which we were! In addition, Carmel helped us with local reservations and rentals. The inn is unique in its breathtaking and peaceful location, as well as in its equally sociable atmosphere, as we both chatted up with the locals for hours one evening. Sidenote: if you're a Gaelic coffee fan, this pub serves one of the best we've had in Ireland!! Besides the cleanliness, cosiness and professionalism demonstrated at the inn, we were both completely taken by the surrounding area. The inn is in the perfect location: off the beaten path, yet very close to the city center as well as to the absolutely gorgeous Western Greenway, where we spent a day biking and taking in stunning views. If you're looking for an exceptional b&b with exceptional people, then this is the place for you. When we return to Ireland one day (I hope soon), we will definitely make our way back to the Buckfield Inn.
~Dana & Nick from New York

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycserenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for a traditional inn to stay in, then this is the place. She was so nice and friendly. She can definitely keep a good conversation going. Ask about the area and she will give you a good story. This is a traditional place where the locals come to have a pint of Guinness and share some great stories. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandOregon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews