We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Mangos Restaurant - CLOSED

Mangos Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We did not have a booking but front of house were very courteous and accommodating. The choice of fresh fish on the menu was amazing. We choose John Dory and Haddock, both cooked to perfection with delicious sauces, fresh vegetables and potatoes. Our last visit when we did book, was a few years ago, we were so pleased with the meal we ate then, so were absolutely delighted to enjoy a return visit and savour Mangos superb cooking and hospitality. Compliments to the chef and front of house staff,Thank-you

Thank CaitDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat024, Manager at Mangos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Caitdonegal

Thanks for the lovely review and for the repeat business, always great to see customers coming back to enjoy the food and Ambiance . We were more than delighted to accommodate ye( but its is advisable to book during busy times ) We always have a great verity of fish on the menu so pop in again when in Westport to savor the lovely tastes.

go raibh maith agat arís

From all the Team At Mangos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Mangos Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 538 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Seldom do we come across such a jewel of the sea, don't come to Westport without a visit here. Excellent service, not rushed , the oysters were outstanding .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat024, Manager at Mangos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Jacqueline m

Thanks for your lovely review. Were are glad the hotel recommend us on a cool wet night and ye both had a lovely evening of warm ambiance and good food and of course Nuala's excellent service. We hope ye had a lovely stay in Westport and indeed your travels around Ireland.

Thanks again from the Team @ mangos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hi popped into this restaurant without reseveration quite full at time.owner said we have a table but it was booked for 8.45.this was 7.00 so we said that was fine we would be out.food was delicious and service was good.really enjoyed it snd pitu there wasn't more seafood restaurants in mayo.had Baileys coffee for dessert twas to die for.lovely nite.thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magsJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat024, Manager at Mangos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for you lovely review magsJessie .

While it's always good to make a reservation on 09824999 or indeed online . Sometimes due to a postponement or time change in some one's booking we are able to offer some tables for limited time to walk-in customers.
We pride our-self's as one of the many fine seafood restaurants in the west offering as many as up to 20 (yes 20) different types of fresh fish and shellfish on our menu and specials board nightly. But of course not forgetting our meat eaters with Steak,Lamb, Chicken and Duck also on our menu with most of our dishes available for coeliac customers also .
We are delighted your table had a lovely night and found the service and food to your liking

We wish you well and hope to see you again at Mango's

From all the Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

had an early bird here and was disappointed.had "lemon chicken"and there wasnt a hint of "lemon" on it! the portion was way too small for €18.50.Was starving afterwards.woulds not go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank padraig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat024, Manager at Mangos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Padraig s

Thanks for taking the time to review Mango's
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your chicken dish off the early bird menu .The chicken is marinated with Lime olive oil and seasoning cooked and served with a creamy wild mushroom sauce we feel that a light citric doesn't over power the dish.
our early bird menu changes through out the year so hopefully you might give us another try.
We are open daily from 5:30 pm closed sunday's . Our earlybird menu is available up to 7pm midweek and 6:30 weekends 2 course €19.95 and three course €23.95

Kind regards the team @ mangos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Mangos isn't all bad. Our server was attentive (our wine was served in a chipped glass, we pointed this out and were given a fresh glass of wine), the decor is nice (if a little cramped), and their goat cheese starter was one of the best I've had in a while.

Having said this, it wasn't what I was expecting from the other reviews on trip advisor. When we sat down we were informed that the 'fresh caught fish' was an imported sea bass from Greece and that the advertised 'organic' salmon was farmed salmon. I ordered from the early bird menu and had the duck starter and the seafood linguini. The duck starter was mediocre, although it was served on a bed of greens with a ranch dressing that took away from the flavour of the duck. The seafood linguini was disappointing - the advertised 'creme and tomato sauce' was a watery tomato mess, I couldn't tell if one of the bits was scallop or white fish, the salmon still had skin on it, and all the fish was overcooked to the point where the shrimp, scallops (?), salmon and mussels all had the same consistency. My girlfriend had the beet salad (delicious) but couldn't finish her seafood chowder (too creamy with unidentifiable fish and uncomplimentary vegetables). While the decor was nice, the washroom was unheated and cold to the point where I could see my breath.

To be fair, we went to the restaurant mid-week during the off season, but I would not recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edgewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat024, Guest Relations Manager at Mangos Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Edgewise

Thank you for taking the time to write your review .
We are sorry your dining experience did not live up to your expectations! We strive to provide excellent food and service. Our food is unpretentious fresh and cooked to order.

We feel it unfortunate that you decided not to mention any problems last night .In general the feedback is very positive and its never a problem to rectify a dish which is not to one's taste.

Hopefully you enjoy Westport and got to listen to some trad music
all the best for 2014

Kind regards the Team @ Mangos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing