We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beds In Irelsnd”
Review of Quay West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quay West
Ranked #13 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This B&B is situated between the Quay area and town so you can walk either direction. Town is a little further and it was cold so we drove our car and had no problem finding a place to park. The bed was the first truly comfortable one we've slept on in the last two weeks. The sheets also felt wonderful. The home is located in a very safe and attractive area. Most of the rooms are on the back side so you are away from the road noise and can look at the beautiful lawn and flowers our back. A fine breakfast is served and the owner is very helpful. Car parking is spacious and safe. The only negative is that you can't get wi-fi in your room but there is a very nice sitting room on the main level complete with fireplace and coffee/tea service where you can hook up. This B&B has also been one of the best priced we have stayed in as we'll as being the best.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fossr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Quay West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

12 months since my last visit, I found quay west again excellent. David was very welcoming. The rooms are excellent, spotless - the breakfasts great with plenty of choice (or mix and match) . Convenient to both the quay/clew bay and the town of westport. 2 minute walk to a centra supermarket and further down the road would recommend the Helm for dinner. It's a little loud, bit food very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nenaghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Sayed 1 night B&B with my family on 5th August. What a great place.

Greeted at the door and shown to our room very quickly. Rooms were excellent standard and beds were comfortable and very clean. TV good. But mind your heads near the table as there are pieces of wood sticking out from the wall (part of a clothing rail) - i would suggest to get rid of these before a big claim comes after someoone bumps their head!!!

Breakfast was very good and so was the service - very helpful and attentive. THANKS!

Ample parking and near to the town and quay. Would definately recommend and would consider returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eyerite2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Arrived and check ed in and enquired about taxis to a function we were attending in The Ould Shebeen. The lovely proprietor said he would "drop us out to the Ould Sheebeen". What an absolutely wonderful gesture and he was true to his word and were we so grateful ! We had a most comfortable nights sleep and then a gorgeous breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. We would be delighted to recommend this lovely guesthouse to anyone coming to Westport ! P & P Keaveney, Galway

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickandPatriciaKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at this lovely guest house for 3 nights , having bed/breakfast .
The place is spotlessly clean , the breakfast excellent and David , the proprietor very helpful . I would return any time I am in Mayo .
Try driving up to Achill island for great wilderness, stunning views and wild Atlantic seas .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My first impression of Quay West Guest house was very positive after talking to David, the proprietor by telephone. Upon arrival we found our room to be impeccably clean. The location was great. A very short walk to the quay, and a great pub to eat and hear some music, the Helm. Across the road the Westport woods resort, for two more choices of bar an restaurant for eating. Only 10 minutes walk to the centre of Westport to visit the famous Matt Molly's pub for some great craic and trad music. David was a great host and cooks an excellent full Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick187178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great friendly welcome, bedroom spotless and great selection for breakfast. Lovely guesthouse, highly recommend it. Would definitley stay again, great value for money. Well rested before heading for the mountain

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.6 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,048 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West

Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $76 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quay West 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West is purpose built with 6 comfortable guest rooms and TV lounge for guest relaxation. All our guest rooms are ensuite, contain orthopaedic beds, hairdryers, TV and toiletries. Quay West is located between the town centre and the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quay West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing