We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bertra House B&B
Nearby Hotels
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
$158
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clew Bay Hotel(Westport)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Westport Country Lodge Hotel(Westport)(Great Value!)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$226
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
92
26
9
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
26
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroagh patrickdelicious irish breakfastrefilled dailyunspoilt beachdining room and sitting roommin drivewonderful homeholy mountainclew baya lovely place to staywestport arearecent staywarm hospitalitytea and coffeefriendly welcomeirish hospitalityroom was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 130 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed in the bertra house 1st nov 08.When me and my friend rang about 7ish sat night we were greated by the landlady Margaret who made no issue of us coming down late which was a positive sign in our first sentnce.we were invited on our arrival,which was quite easy to reach thanks to two reflective signs, by margaret who invited these two dark strange dubs into her home and talked to us no problem on all the regions topics which was very warming and reassurring.we also got a room each which was much appreciated as there was no one else in the lodge and she was totally thinking of us there-i've been to many places and that treatment is never practiced i'd imagine its totally for managements benefit then-so cheers on that mags.the rooms were cosy and had all nescessities.my friends room was very wide at the end wit savage seating and a table,the type you need when a group are planning the next days events! sleeping was grand no noises draughts etc.the breakfast was good,cereal juice and a fry that did'nt dry the mouth for the day(probably a west coast secret)toast brown bread and a savage pot of coffe,the other fella got tea so we were aware then the food and portions were good,the music was low in the dining room sounded like clannad or some other intrumental irish, super start to the morning. the weather was irish too which killed the view that we knew would be priceless otherwise.finally when we were leaving margaret would not let us go without the packed lunch she'd made for us and supplied us with water for the mountain trek and empty bottles for collecting water and sand,cheers mags.definately reccomend this lodge to anyone staying in or around westport,and due to the rock based roads travel is much handier than cork kerry or clare.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We wanted to stay one night but ended up staying four nights.
It all added to each other - very kind host, delicious Irish breakfast, cozy living room, nice surroundings, wonderful views.
Margret, the host, was very helpful explaining tours. The day we climbed Crough Patrick she had put a little lunch and a drink for us at the door, we got walking sticks,… we felt at home with a caring mother.
The last evening she served us an Irish Coffee, very tasty.

Mike and Beate from Germany

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hifi-Ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

For anyone looking for a super bed and breakfast as well as a true warm Irish welcome, need look no further than Bertra House in Murrisk nr. Westport. (The route information on the Trip-adviser card is completely wrong and will never get you there!) We highly recommend it and the location is superb, so close to the sea!

We didn’t arrive until after midnight even though we’d planned to be there by 9.00pm. Nevertheless, the house was still fully lit up and quite easy to find and Margaret the landlady made us feel at home immediately. We were served tea and sandwiches, which were very welcome and we soon felt like old friends of the family. That was the beginning of a super week. Each day started with a typical Irish breakfast which included home-made bread. At the same time Margaret would bring us up to date on the local news as well as giving us worthwhile tips on how we could spend our days. Amongst other things we could observe the seals at Roonah Quay, walk along Silverstrand, climb Croagh Patrik, paddle in the water on Bertra blue flag beach, have a good meal at the Tavern in Murrisk, take the ferry to Clare Island or in the evening spend time at nearby Staunton’s Pub where Theresa would serve us Guinness.
If it rained there was a living room at our disposal and a cup of tea was a matter of course.
The rooms are clean, cosy and comfortable and we shall certainly go there again as we became very fond of Margaret and John-Joe.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grouchyswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights. Margaret was a lovely lady.
We had a lovely room with views over sea and mountains. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were also very nice.
We could not fault Bertra House. We would definitely go again and recommend it to friends
Geoff and Linda Hallett

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonraker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

My wife, 3 boys, and I, went to Bretra as part of a real treat of a week-end (all 5 of us, youngest being 6, got to the top of Croagh Patrick and then headed to Castlebar to see Shane Ward). I booked the stay directly with the lady of the house and I found her to be extremely helpful and courteous (she offered to keep our bags in the fron room if our rooms were not ready when we arrived, we were arriving very early to tackle "The Reek").

On arriving we got a fabulous welcome from Mrs Gill. She showed us around and wished us well on our walk. Hours later we arrived back where the lady of the house was most interested in hearing of our adventures.

A wonderful selection was available for breakfast (2 of the 5 of us are vegetarian, the others 3 are fussy kids!) and again the lady of the house was friendly and courteous.

We will be back. I would highly recommend this (based on the comments in the visitor book at the house, I would not be alone in this!).

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rineanna_OSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews