We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Bertra House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bertra House B&B
Ranked #19 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Margaret's B&B is in a beautiful location, next to a stunning beach and a short walk from the base of Croagh Patrick. We were worried that it would be a difficult place for us to visit as we did not have a car. It would have been (the walk along the road to Murrisk is along a busy road with no pavement) ... but Margaret went out of her way to give us lifts everywhere. She collected us from Westport when we arrived by bus, she dropped us back there at the end of our stay, and she gave us a lift to the pub in Murrisk.

What makes this B&B special is that Margaret will go out of her way to ensure you have a good stay in Ireland!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KASA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Bertra House is supposed to be one of the best in Ireland, having received great reviews and awards. The only thing really outstanding we could find was the location right by the sea, which is just beautiful. The hostess was the least friendly and warm we met on our trip (still nice though). The room was rather small with a spotty and sticky carpet. Breakfast was average and the whole thing just felt more like doing business than being welcomed into a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donkeyfallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertra, Owner at Bertra House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I wish to address this review by first mentioning that the numerous awards received by our guesthouse were bestowed for the renowned hospitality and warm welcome received by our guests. I also wish to clarify that all of the carpets in all of our rooms are less than a year old and are thoroughly cleaned daily so unfortunately I cannot comprehend what the issue raised in this review refers to.
I am nonetheless deeply saddened that one of our guests felt that they did not receive the quality of reception that so many of our other guests have come to applaud us on and I wish to affirm that If any our guests have any issues with any of the services provided, please highlight your concerns during your stay and we will do everything within our power to resolve any problems so as to ensure you leave with pleasant memories of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

On a motorbiking tour around the Mayo coast, we took longer than expected to cover our distance for the day and realised we would be arriving much later than the intended time. However, on contacting Margaret she was very accommodating, telling us to take whatever time we needed and enjoy the trip. In spite of us not arriving till nearly 10pm, she was very welcoming indeed and when we asked where we could get something to eat at that time, she even volunteered to make us a light supper - this was very much appreciated as we would have been too late to get food in the village and were absolutely exhausted. It was a small gesture of kindness that made a huge difference to us on the night.

I would hope to stay here again the next time I return to tour the Mayo coast area. The location is easy enough to find, is in beautiful surroundings and is nice and peaceful. The scrambled eggs are highly recommended!

Helpful tip - the turn for the house is on the right hand side heading out of Murrisk, about a mile and a half (nearly 2.5 kilometres) past the Tavern pub in the village. After the turn it's about another 500-600 metres to the house.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridinbheag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I enjoyed every minute of stay in Bertra house. Was stunned by views of Croagh Patrick through bedroom window, the most peaceful sleep, complete silence and peace and the most delicious scrambled egg for breakfast. Felt really welcome and looked after! 5 min walk to the blue flag beach, 5 min drive to Croagh Patrick, 10 min drive to Westport. Couldnt imagine better location! Highly recommend for that little escape form everyday stress and rush.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I loved staying at Bertra House B&B. I enjoyed it so much I extended my stay! The location was absolutely superb with wonderful views of Croagh Patrick and of Clew Bay. The hospitality was second to none and there was a very high standard of cleanliness. Margaret made me feel very welcome and I plan to return very soon for another visit. 5/5 for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 232Denise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked to stay 3 nights and stayed for 5! Wonderful hostess who made us very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. Great advice on what to do in the area. Home situated near a beautiful beach, and near enough to Westport for everything there. Lovely, individually styled rooms, and the use of a very comfortable sitting room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We arrived here unexpectedly having originally booked with another B & B up the road. There was a mix up with our booking and we were directed to Bertra House. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a comfortable lounge for guest use. Free wi-fi. Margaret is a lovely lady and she gave us directions on where to go and what to do in the area. The only disappointment for us was the breakfast. You have to make your choice the night before and the full Irish does not include the typical Irish ingredients of black and white pudding. It is an English breakfast of bacon, sausage, egg and beans. However, it was good - freshly cooked and nicely served. There is a lovely walk to the beach and the dunes and the day that we were there the weather was hot and sunny and we definitely saw this area at its best. We sat in the garden drinking wine and watched the most beautiful sunset over the sea. Would recommend this B & B and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
4.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,009 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
951 reviews
5.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quay West
Quay West
#15 of 70 in Westport
100 reviews
5.9 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
863 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertra House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertra House B&B

Address: R335 | Thornhill, Murrisk, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $80 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertra House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bertra House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing