We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in September and we have to say its one of the nicest b&bs we have stayed in. We had a double room at the front of the house which was large with ensuite. the bed was comfortable and your towels were changed every day if required. The breakfast was lovely and John was always on hand to ask if you would like anything else, during breakfast you could always here John singing some irish songs in the background which we loved.

John was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area for scenic drives and places to go which we really appreciated and done most of these which we enjoyed.

John and Mary made you feel very welcome and did their utmost to please.

We would highly recommend this b&b and if ever we were in this area again we would definitely stay here.

If you are looking for somewhere to eat the The Helm at the harbour has great food. We ate here most nights and we were not disappointed with the service and quality of food.

Martin & Avril Tiffney

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEY57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    62
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
205
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, WA
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms, short walk to town with good food and entertainment---these are a given. The best part of staying at Hazelbrook is the welcoming, fun-loving atmosphere provided by the host. The last place you really want to stay when tired from traveling is something akin to a morgue, or a library. Hazelbrook provides a homey, fun-loving atmosphere replete with an excellent breakfast, and be prepared for a few Irish ditties somewhat muted while the breakfast is being prepared! Should be five stars! ..."when Irish eyes are smilin'....."

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPWoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Owner at Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
What a fantastic review to get, delighted you had such happy memories of your stay with us at Hazelbrook. Again, many thanks and much appreciated.
John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very comfy and clean. I really enjoyed the little kitchen on the ground floor with, tea, coffee and 2 large jars filled with yummy cookies. Very comfy rooms with ensuite bathrooms. Our host was available to answer all our questions and great tips for food in the town. My only complaint would be the strongly scented linens and towels as someone who is sensitive I found the scents pretty overpowering but luckily there was a window to open. Breakfast was fantastic every thing you could ever want. Our host John was quite friendly and open to our every need. Its a easy walk into to town as well. Mat Malloy's pub is not to miss for music. Many great options for food in the charming town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aura44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Terrific place located in Westport....clean, comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and charming owner. The B&B is in their home and close to the town's center, a quick walk. Breakfast is good - hey will fix you many options. The rooms are not large, but clean and efficient. A great value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Owner at Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you Tony, we appreciate your comments on your stay with us at Hazelbrook in Westport
Best regards, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven NY
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hazelwood. Very comfortable and extremely friendly. John was a top notch host and if I may, I strongly recommend the pancakes. It is only a few minutes walk from the center of Westport which has a lot of shopping, pubs and restaurants. Met some very nice guests at Hazelbrook too. My wife rode horses on Westport beach and we hiked Croagh Patrick (all I can say is "wow"). Very happy with our experiences at Hazelbrook.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Owner at Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks Doug B for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Hazelbrook.
Delighted your stay in Westport was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the shores of Cew Bay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very convenient B&B to Westport - a good "stretch of the legs" as they say if you walk into the town which my husband I did both days. John makes you feel right at home with a lot of Irish hospitality, and the breakfasts are wonderful cooked by Mary. The rooms are clean and there is a small kitchen available if someone wants to make a cup of coffee or tea etc. Very nice B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfersIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Hazel Brook house in Westport. It allowed us to experience local culture and the town of Westport in a pleasant and relaxing way. John's hospitality was warm and welcoming including the fantastic breakfasts he served (while singing) to the clean and comfortable room to the overall service we enjoyed upon arrival and throughout our stay. We will stay here again should our travels bring us to Westport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
Address: Deerpark East | Newport Road N59, Westport 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazel brook is a 2 story purpose built B/B and is Irish Tourist Board Approved. Hazelbrook is 4 star rated and is listed in all major tour guides. All our rooms are en-suite; there are 2 ground floor rooms and all with TV, hairdryer, clock radio, toiletries, WiFi, Satellite TV. Massage, Reflexology and Aromatherapy are available in our on site therapy suite. Our guest kitchenette is equipped with Tea/Coffee/Biscuits, etc, Microwave oven,Toaster, fridge, Ironing board, Flasks, etc. Our patio and gardens are available to our guests. We have 3 smoking areas, and safe storage space for wet gear, surf boards, bicycles etc. We accept all major credit cards and vouchers. we provide off street private car parking spaces for 8/9 vehicles. We look forward to welcoming you to Hazelbrook where you will be assured of a warm Irish welcome and a pleasant stay. Your host: Mary Cafferkey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing