We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

The Helm Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ate here over the Easter weekend, we had a table reserved which I would recommend as they had a very full house. Food was excellent, huge portions and really friendly staff. We stayed on for a few drinks, there was live music. The owner spent the night making his way around the tables making sure everyone was well looked after. A great spot, well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    213
    50
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Magic Mother's Day”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a meal on Mother's day. The restaurant was exceptionally busy, however, the staff were friendly and efficient and attentive . The food was superb, we all opted for beef which was cooked to perfection. I would recommend the chowder as a starter and for dessert apple crumble. A main course for €11.95 max price on Mother's Day is a real bargain. The whole dining experience was most enjoyable, so much so, that we stayed on in the bar for drinks for an extra couple of hours

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Covey-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Its all good, food outstanding, pints of Guinness fantastic, staff lovely. Situated in the harbour area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TM2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly staff”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A great restaurant, always good food, lively atmosphere. Can be busy at weekends so advisable to book in advance, music also some nights so check who's playing! Friendly, attentive staff so worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DSF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and value ”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We rented an apartment with full kitchen etc, but only stayed a night. The apartment was on he basic side but newly refurbished and very clean and comfortable.

The dinner bed and breakfast deal was great and we could choose from everything on the menu, with 4 courses. Everything we had was excellent, tasty and very big portions.

The restaurant was busy with a great atmosphere and there was a traditional band playing on the night that we were in who were very good.

The area around the restaurant is being developed so should be finished soon and looking good. Plenty to do nearby and lovely scenery.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Helm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing