We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Helm Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Popped into The Helm just for a main course after reading reviews on here, well worth the visit, great food, great attentive staff. Will definitely come back when in Westport next

Helpful?
Thank scudzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    223
    51
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value in every way”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Visited Westport last weekend and i must say that i enjoyed every minute of it ,
especially The Helm Restaurant ,had dinners there 2 nights in a row and i found the food
tasty and well presented , the staff are very friendly and most helpfull in every way ,
i would recomend this restaurant to any one ,will certainly visit this place again .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joegerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Tasty food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

visited Westport after the New year we were brought to this restaurant for a late lunch this was the night after there was terrible storms in the area, had a great day in Westport fantastic shops etc then went to the Helm the rest of the family had been there a few times before. we went about 4 so still under the lunch menu shared the mushrooms with my sister in law they were yum other members of the group had the vegetable soup which was tasty and the sea food chowder. Main course I had the lasagne and this was really tasty with the mashed potato which were lush the only thing I would say is there is really big portion size. two of the group had the trio of fish which was a good portion size and tasty they were happy. the staff were very pleasant and gave us a warm welcome the pub restaurant was busy the whole time , will be returning again when in the area to look forward to good tasty food what more can you ask for

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureen2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
“THE HELM, WESTPORT”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

this is a consistently good restaurant.The best value and the best food is served for sunday lunch and the choice is amazing for a sun lunch menu where you have a choice of 15/20 dishes all at €10.95! it wont be beaten

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padraig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Return again and again”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visit Westport regularly and return again and again to the Helm. Food is great, service is without flaw and you get value for money. Seafood is particularly good. Go hungry ...... good choice for all the family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cidona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Helm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing