We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and not so cheap.”
Review of Drummin House

Drummin House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drummin House
Ranked #35 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Small B/B, but friendly people. Not as cheap as it should be considering the location and the size being very basic.
Breakfast was excellent however.
Needs to lower its prices.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ganbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rooms are basic but service was very good, breakfast was lovely and location is excellent! I would happily stay there again if I only wanted somewhere to sleep and I would only recommend it to a friend if I knew that's what they were looking for!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosedelamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed here in April 2010 when I walked from Leenane to Westport along the Western Way. The B&B is a few miles off the official trail, but the owners kindly collected me at the end of my first day of walking and dropped me back to the trail on my second day, so I didn't have to walk extra miles along the road. The freshly-made tea and scone, the roaring fire and the weekend newspapers were an indulgent treat when I arrived. My room was clean, comfortable, and very quiet, and my meals were both tasty and generous. I thought it was good value for money, but the hosts’ extra effort and welcome made it all the better. I’d recommend it for anyone walking this section of the Western Way.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatchyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with some friends, no problem rooms were clean, towels provided for each person, soap shampoo etc provided in the en suite. Beds were comfortable and quiet. Hair dryers and irons were available on the landing outside the room should they be required.

It suited our needs perfectly and the owner was very accomidating.

Thank you and possibly see you again

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theTeaInEMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We just returned from a three week trip to England, Wales and Ireland. We used public transportation entirely and stayed at B and Bs. We were, overall, very pleased with the trip. That being said, the Drummin House in Westport, County Mayo, was the low point. When we arrived, there was no-one on site to let us in. The owner's elderly Mom saw us, let us in the house and directed us upstairs (she wasn't physically able to accompany us) to sort things out for ourselves. Since we had arrived earlier than we expected, we forgave this. We then left for a few hours and upon returning mid-evening (after supper) we found no-one at home but the owner's young daughters who said "hi" and that was it. Later I went downstairs and knocked on the kitchen door to introduce myself - again just the two girls (who were very sweet and, apparently, used to fending for themselves). I asked about breakfast the following morning and we agreed on a time to have it (with me not knowing if this information would actually get conveyed). Well, breakfast was fine - the usual Irish eggs/bacon/sausage fare and the proprietress pleasant enough. The next morning, someone else prepared our breakfast - the girls' father? It was a little weird. The young girl's bedrooms were on the same level as our room and they were noisy late in to the night - yelling and loud music. Again, the girls were very sweet. It just felt as though the operation was a little too loose. I opted to pay in cash. The room was clean, bright and freshly made up. Amazingly, there wasn't one of those handy little hotpots for making tea and coffee - the only B and B in three weeks not to provide one. There is potential here, but they need to work at it a little harder

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leprechan_Lexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielinvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#9 of 70 in Westport
87 reviews
0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,039 reviews
0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,495 reviews
0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,161 reviews
0 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drummin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummin House

Address: Tubber Hill, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $66 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drummin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing