We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak on Stone”

Cox's Restaurant and Bars
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Castlebar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The fillet steak on a stone is first class. Served with a choice of sauces and veg the steak is cooked by yourself on the hot stone. A nice red wine adds to the experience. The experience leads to a very social meal as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Noel,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the Steak On The Stone and the red wine too. To see the word "experience" used twice in your review sums up what we try to practice at Coxs. Thank you and come on the Mitchels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 197 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Going in the front it is very deceiving at how big the place is, it's huge with a big outside area. We went early on & there was a singer starting so we went upstairs for our food. I had the steak on its own hot rock which you cook yourself! Brilliant extra & the value for money you could eat steak every day!

Thank Shivvy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Shivvy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Every review, no matter if its good or bad, helps us to key an eye on our performance. I'm glad you enjoyed our "Steak on the Stone". It is one of our signature dishes and it a huge hit with our diners. We are especially proud of the steak as we source our meats (and all ingredients) locally. I see you visited in June? If you are visiting again in July or August, make sure you stay for the music as we host an award winning "Irish Night" every Thursday for the summers. Check it out here and thanks again. http://coxs.yolasite.com/gallery.php

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went here on a Saturday night at 9 pm after climbing Croaghpatrick with some friends
The service was very good and prompt the food came out in good time and was delicious
Very good value for money and got extra chips,veg etc without even asking
Very impressed and will be back again when in Castlebar

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank steviedenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Stevie,
Firstly, congratulations on your climb. No easy feat and certainly at this time of the year it can be tricky.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Cox's and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again soon. The extra veg is a great help when climbing Croagh Patrick!!!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Food was good, my steak was cooked to perfection. The waitress needed to step up her game as the drinks sat empty and we had to wait extended periods for any and everything. Also the Guinness tasted funny, maybe too much carbonation???

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LemuelMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Lemuel,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Every review, no matter if its good or bad, helps us to key an eye on our performance. I'm glad you liked the food and that the steak was as ordered. I have brought your comments to the attention of our waiting staff and the restaurant will follow that up. Also, I passed on your observation to the Guinness technical team and they will investigate that also.
Once again, thanks for your comments and hope to see you in Cox's again.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

child friendly.....well varied menu.... lovely friendly staff.....good value....just be warned that it is upstairs, so if you have difficulty climbing, you are gonna miss out. Sorry

3  Thank Eadaoin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Eadaoin, thank you for taking time to write your positive review. Glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you return again soon. Just to know, that all food can be served downstairs too if anyone would prefer that. We can take a reservation for there too. Thanks again and see you soon.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cox's Restaurant and Bars also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Cox's Restaurant and Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing