We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was shocked ...”

Cox's Restaurant and Bars
Ranked #22 of 57 Restaurants in Castlebar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Coxs lately and let's be honest, it hasn't been the best! But I brought a friend there last night for his birthday and I was shocked at the difference. The service was good, the food was good. I had no complaints at all!! Was very very good! I would go back again, with caution!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bubblegumbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for returning and trying Coxs again. We're really glad that you enjoyed the night. Your previous comments were helpful for us to iron out a few things. Once again thanks for your continued support and do call again.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Cox's Restaurant and Bars
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived late in Castlebar but managed to find Cox's at 9.30 ish. Very nice staff and mid price range menu. The steaks were great and extra side of fries thrown in for free. Coffee was very good as was the pint of Guiness. Waitresses very nice and attentive

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tbergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review and glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

when we came in we were made fell very welcome which is important and with the great service and a lovely meal to match i would eat here again, also very children friendly.

2  Thank oliver b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Called on a Sunday evening in July 2013 and have to say that it was my first and last visit to Coxs. Very simple to review this premises..........over priced small menu with very small reheated portions. Cremated rashers is not ham as described in the menu. Staff are average and service very slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank theshelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is pub grub at its best, the steaks are fantastic and cooked to perfection, it is great value for money.

1  Thank RoscommonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cox's Restaurant and Bars also viewed

 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Cox's Restaurant and Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing