We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Cox's Restaurant and Bars
Ranked #32 of 55 Restaurants in Castlebar
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Steakhouse, International, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Roscommon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is pub grub at its best, the steaks are fantastic and cooked to perfection, it is great value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoscommonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    17
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't see that coming.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a Castlebar native living abroad, for me, Cox's is generally synonymous with being the place I end up with the lads, at the late bar, because it's near our preferred pubs, it's free in, and we're not ready for Supermacs yet.

On my most recent visit home with my girlfriend, I spied a leaflet about some fancy-pants Steak on the Stone that was available there. It had been at least ten years since I'd eaten at the restaurant in Cox's, and memory of the menu gave a vision of glorified pub grub. I do really like steak, so I was very much intrigued about this cooking it on a stone, and I was happy to give it a go.

I booked a table for two, and it was ready for us when we arrived. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. We shared a deep fried Brie for starters, which was fine. Then it was time for the Steak on the Stone. It was fantastic, a very unique dining experience. The meat was of an exceptionally high quality, and the accompanying sides and sauce complimented it perfectly. We were both extremely impressed. On a personal level, I was so surprised - I would never in a million years have imagined that the place I go to drink until 3am would also serve such amazing food! I know I'll be recommending it to friends. Our last steakhouse experience was one with a Michelin-starred chef attached to its branding, where we were less than impressed, and Cox's wiped the floor with them.

Unfortunately, after this, the staff became less attentive. We had to chase them for the dessert menu, to give our dessert order, for the bill, and, surprisingly, to pay the bill. It was an unfortunate let down after being so impressed up until then, and the reason this review isn't getting five out of five. The staff were still perfectly friendly, and it won't put me off going back, but it's still far from cool.

If Cox's were to rebrand themselves to position themselves as a steakhouse or grill, I do think they could do very well indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronanfitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor quality”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited here on. A weekend in Castlebar the food was awful the staff were not a bit helpful very over priced small portions , we also went back to the venue for the late bar what we experienced was awful from once we got to the door the bouncers here awful rude not very welcoming at all. The bar staff were all very snappy and left you waiting so long for a to order a drink. The toilets were just disgraceful no toilet roll in half of them. From my experience of this venue I would not be recommending it to a friend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Croghan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

had a lovely dinner here yesterday evening, staff were very welcoming and nice. good selection and choice on the menu, the burger i had was delicious and everyone else's meals looked nice... would definately return and would recommened to anyone!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sicaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“perfect international restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

very extented international menu; perfect staff.
no dislikes, my advice: try the seafood menu> outstanding

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joop v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cox's Restaurant and Bars also viewed

 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Cox's Restaurant and Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing