We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect international restaurant”

Cox's Restaurant and Bars
Ranked #27 of 57 Restaurants in Castlebar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“perfect international restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

very extented international menu; perfect staff.
no dislikes, my advice: try the seafood menu> outstanding

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joop v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    52
    18
    16
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enniscrone
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I recently had a meal in Cox's, brilliant food from starter to main course, very friendly service. On what was a busy evening with a lot of Mayo supporters returning from Galway we were well looked after

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dMull40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxs_Customer_Dept, Guest Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review and also your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your food and your experience in general.
The day was a sweet day for all us Mayo supporters so hope you enjoyed the atmosphere!

Thanks again,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A terrific meal here was enjoyed by a group and appreciated especially was the great service provided by Dervla and Lisa who coped extremely well not just with our group but many other diners also.

The fillet steak I ordered came cooked as preferred and accompanied by the traditional offerings of sauces and side orders, starters and desserts were also very good.

Definitely recommend here for a good meal and great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxs_Customer_Dept, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your postive review and taking the time to write it. Glad you enjoyed your night and the food. I have passed on your comments to Dervla and Lisa.

Thanks again.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best time, ever!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A very happy accident. We stopped in Castlebar because I saw there was a Sloyan's bar and felt a need to visit it. Our B&B hosts recommended us to stop in at Cox's and see Michael. She said he would take good care of us. We went in, sat at the bar and had a blast joking. Michael told us to come on back the next night because there was to be some music and dancing. We came back, had a nice dinner at the bar and stayed until the place closed. Random folks, young and old, got up and started dancing. My friend and I were encouraged to come up and give it a try. It wasn't pretty, but we did it. Everyone was just wonderful. We met our new favorite bar keep's family members. My friend met someone who is cousins with her cousins husband. See you chat long enough, you find a new cousin! Other then seeing my family that I haven't seen since my last visit to Ireland 12 yrs ago, Cox's was the best part of our trip. So much fun! Plan on a return visit. See you soon! Maureen and Mary

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxs_Customer_Dept, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Maureen & Mary,
Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review. You came on a good weekend as our Irish show usually is only on during the summer. Both nights you were in were good and glad you liked the show. Charlene was amazed at the coincidence of dancing in Worcester recently. Make sure you visit again if you re back in Ireland and thanks again for review.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab spot”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and my 5 year old son went in and they made us both feel very welcome they provided my son with crayons and colouring book I then ordered kids pizza which was amazing and only cost 5 euro my wife and I enjoyed our meal which was excellent the staff went beyond her duty to make our time there very relaxed and enjoyable

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docdamien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxs_Customer_Dept, Public Relations Manager at Cox's Restaurant and Bars, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. A reviews are noted and are helpful. Delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cox's Restaurant and Bars also viewed

 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Cox's Restaurant and Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing