We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Windermere House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere House
Ranked #5 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Brandon, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed two nights with Kay at Windmere House.She was so welcoming and the perfect hostess.
The rooms were lovely ,clean, comfortable and very obvious that she took pride in what she does. I have to say one of the best we've stayed at! We were doing some family research. She went out of her way to help us with that and told us about the museum in Castlebar which we enjoyed so much. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyH181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Kay was such a kind hostess, and tea and scones on arrival with a good chat was a welcoming touch. Handy location for Castlebar, Westport and Knock airport.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nottstourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed with Kay for two nights in June and it was really great and one of the best BB we had.
We had a great room and it was really clean. Kay gave us a feeling like coming home. She welcomed us with tea and homebacking ginger cake, loveley.
Her breakfast was wonderful and very delicious.
I`m sure we`re coming back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Kay is a perfect host! She welcomed us with tea and biscuits, helped us with tips and said bye with fruits and biscuits to take away. The rooms are very clean, the place is warm and with a lot of personality. The Knock airport is 40 minutes away by car. I would sleep here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Kay on may 19th,2012 she is a wonderful host, when we checked in she gave us tea and homemade scones, which were the the best I have had on my trip to Ireland. We have been traveling around for over two weeks, we found Kay in the bed and breakfast book.
She gave us some places to see, we went to the Westport house, which we truly enjoyed seeing and the history.
We had a wonderful breakfast this morning, I really enjoyed the porridge and the boiled egg.
Please if you are in castlebar stay at the Windermere house, Kay will make sure you are treated great and you will enjoy your stay, along with the wonderful beds and view.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This B&B was, by far, our most favorite accommodation out of all the places we stayed during our month touring in Europe. Kay is the loveliest lady, offering exceptional service in every way...from the homemade scones and hot tea when you arrive, to the cozy fireplace, helpful advice for tourist attractions, comfy/clean/cozy lounge and bedroom, and, to top it off...hot and scrumptious BREAKFAST!! It was a home away from home and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get the absolute BEST bang for their buck! We spent time in Westport and enjoyed walking through it's quaint downtown streets and the views along the quay. We also saw the abandoned village on the beautiful Achill Island...highly recommend visiting these spots in addition to your visit to Castlebar! I know you will enjoy Windermere House as much as we did!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumet belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

rooms very good
Breakfast wonderfull
Hospitality super....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castlebar hotels
0.6 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kenny's Guesthouse
Kenny's Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#8 of 17 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House

Property: Windermere House
Address: Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing