We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere House
Ranked #5 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have mixed things to say, the place is just lovely, what a beautiful location and property. A bit cluttered for someone traveling with a young child (they grab everything), but we just watched him carefully and they provided a travel cot - so helpful!

Just one very weird experience. We had two rooms, had the children asleep upstairs, and were chatting in the sitting room and drinking wine and beer late on a Friday night, and the owner came in and pretty much shooed us off to bed. We stayed in somewhere around 10 B&Bs on this trip and never had this experience elsewhere. It was odd.

While we did like the place very much, we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyKBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
42
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

we had a great stay in Windermere house. Warm welcoming and delicious Irish breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I spent 5 days at Windermere House. Kay was very friendly and welcoming and upon our arrival we received a tray of tea and home made scones. Indeed this was offered to us each day when we returned to the guest house. The room was at the front and had lovely views, it was spacious and had a warm and comfortable bed. At all times the standard of service and cleanliness was excelllent. Kay even provided little extras such as toiletries, hair driers and curling tongs. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu, the food was plentiful and well coooked. Kay baked fresh soda bread and scones each day. It was an extremely pleasant stay and I have no hesitation in recommending the Windermere to anyone travelling in the Castlebar area. Even Dixie the collie dog was very friendly and loved to play ball.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

A warm welcome with tea/coffe and homemade scones and a helpful hostess with great advices about the area !

The room were not big but it was enough for us with tea/coffee facilities, TV and comfortables beds. The bathroom was quite big with all the necessary (soaps, shampoo, cottons, ...).

For the breakfast you have choice between different menus and it was delicious !
We really enjoyed our stay at windermere house and would recommend at anyone staying in Castlebar !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feaelwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Windermere House. Kay was so wonderful to us. It felt like we were "at home". Her breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I would highly suggest that you stay in Windermere House any time that you come to Castlebar! Kay and her family go literally above and beyond to ensure that each and every detail of your stay is to your preference, and they do everything that they can to ensure that your stay in their home, and indeed, in their town, is FABULOUS! Make Windermere your first choice for lodging in Castlebar!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

great b and b with a warm welcome!kay made us tea and scones on arrival and it was much appreciated after a hard days graft!!
thanks again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liadainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castlebar hotels
1.1 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#4 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kenny's Guesthouse
Kenny's Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
3.7 mi away
The Garden Gates B & B
The Garden Gates B & B
#3 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House

Property: Windermere House
Address: Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing