We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and the dinner was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and the dinner was fantastic”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We had a midweek break in the Harlequin Hotel. It's a really lovely modern hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We had two adjoining rooms, which was great because it saved us going up the corridor to get the to room nextdoor.
One bathroom had a bath with over head shower, the other had a big walk in shower which was suitable for people with disabilities.
Both rooms had a safe each, flat screen tvs with a great picture and tea making facilities. It was nice that the kettle was a fast boil one and that biscuits were supplied.
The beds were very comfortable and very big.
The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the town centre. The multi story car park is adjoining the hotel and is free for guests. The theatre is just nextdoor so perfect for a stay after a show.
The best part was the evening meal, it really was lovely. The nicest dinner we've had. Everything cooked perfectly and the waiting staff were very helpful.
There is wifi in the hotel lobby but if you want to connect to the internet in the bedroom you need to use a data cable and pay a deposit.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnumlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    284
    97
    36
    17
See reviews for
138
367
42
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Excellent hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.We requested a quieter room after we had checked in and the receptionist obliged us. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to castlebar

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterandMissusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Not only is the Hotel in an excellent position, it has a lovely feeling as soon as you walk through the door. Reception is top class and all the rooms and dining are comfortable and excellent in every way. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful in every way. We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable bed and the only problem was getting out of it in the morning !!
We will certainly return whenever we are in the area again
Our only problem was that we didn't stay long enough

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irelandluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
412 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed here on a package of 165 euro each for two night's bed and breakfast, one dinner and a ticket to see Daniel O'Donnell. Rooms are lovely, very clean. Staff in dining room are brilliant, very efficient and the breakfast was lovely. The dinner was one of the best meals we had in a long time, very well presented and delicious. I could not praise the dining room staff enough. Thank you Owen, Arthur and Damien for your excellent service.
I thought that Martina and Gemma on reception could have been a bit more friendly. They did their jobs but I felt as if I was annoying them when I enquired about something and when I handed in the cards of the rooms, there was no "safe home" just a quick good bye.
Overall a lovely hotel, my gripe with reception was only a small one and Daniel O'Donnell was fantastic, the Royal theatre staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 Nights, Dinner Bed and Breakfast. On arrival we decided to upgrade for 15 Euros extra per night, well worth it we got lovely Courtyard Room which was very quiet room. I would reccommend these rooms as my sister had upgrade and her room was facing Theatre and was noisy at night, however her room was also lovely. We could not fault the hotel in general. The staff were friendly, the rooms and bathrooms
The quality of Breakfast and Dinner was excellent. Over all we had a very
pleasent stay and highly reccommend this hotel.
Kevin & Marian Cavanagh








pleasent

were spotless

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

my wife and i stayed here for 3 nights went to castlebar to see the beach boys concert in the tf royal which is next door, the staff at the harlequin are most friendly couldnt do enough for us ,couldnt find any fault so a big thank you to all at the hotel for a great weekend keep up the good work guys ps the beds are ? well check them out

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I would recommend this hotel. We had a fab time. Staff were so accommodating, hotel is gorgeous and it is well located.. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner the second night and it was amazing. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donegalcouple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.8 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.6 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
8.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
15.6 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Property: Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Address: Lannagh Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing