We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great time had by all”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just back from a stay with extended family. We all had a great time and are alredy talking about a reunion. The staff in the restaurant/bar were very friendly and efficient with a ready smiile. The food was gorgeous with the turkey and ham lunch the best I've ever tasted. Close to everything with free on site parking. It is located on a busy road but once I fell asleep that was it until morning as the bed was so comfortable, I would prefer a choice of pillows though as they were a little hard for my liking . Castlebar is only 18km from Westport where we visited the town, Croake Patrick and Westport House and were happy each day to leave the throngs and return to our lovely comfortable hotel. We relaxed each evening in the foyer with a couple of glases of wine. Bliss.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    288
    100
    37
    17
See reviews for
140
373
42
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A really clean, modern and welcoming hotel, perfectly placed in the centre of Castlebar - with pubs and shops very close by. Very smart and elegant foyer and lovely, spacious bedrooms with all the extras and hanging space anyone could want, and the most comfortable mattress I've slept on in a long time. Banks of light switches by both the door and the bedhead were quite challenging to master - the sequence of what went on and off with each switch would trouble a Mastermind contestant - but had a laugh trying to work it all out. The receptionists were friendly and welcoming - and were very efficient in posting my mobile back to me, which I had tragically left behind! Must give a big pat on the back to the restaurant staff, who all worked hard and yet still found time for a friendly word. Very generous portions in the restaurant and really good food, too. Breakfasts were so substantial that we didn't need to eat again till the evening!
I'm all the more amazed by this hotel because we were there with a National Holidays coach tour. This hotel is way above the standard we expected, and we thought the hotel team were very clever in the way they separated the coach group from other guests in the restaurant but did not make us feel in any way 'second class'. A big well done to the management team for getting this right.
Looking forward to visiting this hotel again at some point. Oh, and my elderly friend loved Siobhan the hairdresser - she did a fab job at an extremely reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the Mayo Peace Park, but the road outside is quite busy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevLead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just back from a short stay with Friends at this Hotel and I have to say we were all impressed. Location is brilliant just a few minutes walk to Shops, Pubs and eating houses. Check in was efficient and Reception staff very pleasant. Rooms were spacious, well presented and very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable. We were located on the First Floor and facing the main road, which can be noisy with traffic. Perhaps rooms at a higher level and on the opposite side may be quieter. I have to state the traffic was not a problem for myself or any of my friends.
Breakfast was very good with a great selection to chose from. Dinner was also very good which was enhanced by the very attentive and professional staff in particular ( Johnathan and I think the girl's name was Michelle). Overall a very pleasant hotel would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the Hotel may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Good hotel ,well appointed. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms clean and well maintained. Only downside is with restaurant being on ground floor open plan, the smell of cooking does at times permeate the area and stairways. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Greencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently on business... Noticed the hotel reception seemed to have been redecorated/ more furniture added which looked very nice but I feel this effort would have been better spent on the bedrooms. I was not greeted warmly at reception which was the first thing annoyed me, not as much as a smile. In relation to my bedroom I was disappointed on a few things...firstly there were lots of cobwebs in the corner of my window and it had been a while since the windows had been cleaned...disappointing as it was a very nice suite with a very large corner window. I then noticed there was a cigarette burn in my bed linen and a large black mark on the sheet which would have been very obvious to whoever put it on. Two other things that I felt was unacceptable in a 4 star bedroom was that there was a very limited supply of toiletries, no shower cap for example in the bathroom and the bedroom has no iron...when called for an iron it was delivered with a very dodgy plug...a hazard that was unacceptable to give to someone to use. The best thing about this hotel is the quality of the food in the restaurant and the very professional waiting staff...a pity the workers in other departments let the hotel down.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnybegood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlequin1, Front Office Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Jonnybegood2
Thank you for taking the time to post your review as we place great importance on Guest Feedback, both positive and constructive.
I was disappointed to read that you were not greeted warmly on Check in, as we pride ourselves on excellent Customer Service and I apologize that you did not receive this and will be investigating further as to why you did not receive our usual ‘Failte Romhait’.
Also, thank you for bringing to my attention the housekeeping issues and I can assure you this is not our usual acceptable standard, and this will be addressed immediately with our Accommodation Manager.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Foyer Restaurant, where we combine both contemporary and Traditional Cuisine, with local suppliers providing the best in fresh and seasonal produce.

I wish I had the opportunity to speak with you prior to your departure and I would hope to welcome you back to the Harlequin Hotel at some point in the future.

The Hotel and the Theatre have only recently been purchased out of Receivership and the new owners and staff are trying very hard to increase the overall standard.

Kind Regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just back from a lovely break in this gorgeous little hotel in Castlebar with my husband and kids. We got an extremely good value 2 night deal. It far outweighed my expectations. Hotel was immaculate, very comfortable and food was delicious. The only drawback was the fact that it was on a very busy road with a 24hr garage across the road which the local boyracers like to use as their base to go tearing in and out of. As a result we found the room extremely warm and stuffy because we could not open the window because of the noise. If I stay there again (and I would like to) I would definitely be looking for a room at the back of the hotel. Other than that it is extremely centrally located with plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs on it's doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilroc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlequin1, Front Office Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear hilroc67

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at the Harlequin Hotel. I’m delighted that you had a lovely break and the offers that we are presently doing are indeed exceptional Value for Money.

My sincere apologies regarding the traffic noise that you experienced. We are trying to rectify this, but as you can appreciate, this noise is not on hotel property, therefore, it is somewhat not within our control to eliminate immediately, but please be assured, that we are currently working on it.

We would be delighted to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to book a room at the Back of the Hotel for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed 2 nights with our 6 month old baby July 2014.
Overall enjoyed our stay for the following reasons:
1. Dinner was very tasty on both nights
2. Most staff very friendly and polite
3. Room was bright and decor tasteful - Also as requested the room contained a kitchenette with a fridge & microwave (for sterilising & making up bottles)
4. Easy access to multi-storey carpark
5. Bathroom was clean and shower was in good working order
6. When we requested a highchair one male staff member offered us a cushion as the tray was up a bit high for the baby
7. Hotel very near the town and a lovely park to walk in opposite the hotel.

Unfortunately we have some not so good comments:
1. Self service breakfast - rashers a bit dry and juice very warm
2. We had a room facing the main road outside and lots of very loud cars passing all night and early morning and at one stage we were woken by them beeping back & forth at each other while parked in the petrol station across the road at 4am, we even had the windows closed but this made no difference
3. Male staff member behind breakfast bar was shouting very rudely at other staff & a female staff member was standing beside me while I was serving myself, she threw her eyes up as if to say she was fed up with it.
We would considering returning if improvements were made on certain things because as you can see we did somewhat enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room as traffic is extremely loud on main road late at night into the early hours of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlequin1, Front Office Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Frank
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do place great importance on both Negative and Positive guest feedback so your comments are greatly appreciated.

I’m delighted that you found so many positive things in the hotel and will definitely pass on your comments regarding Dinner and the Staff been Friendly and Polite.

We recently went into new ownership and are at the moment reviewing a lot of things in the hotel including Breakfast, as we have many exciting and tasty options coming on board in the near future.

I would be confident, should you decide to return to the hotel in the future, you will be pleasantly surprised at the many improvements that have been and will continue to be put in place.

Kind Regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.8 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
163 reviews
10.6 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
8.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
9.4 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,001 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Property: Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Address: Lannagh Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing