We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“clean, modern hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a clean, modern hotel, across from the Mayo Peace Park in Castlebar. The room was too warm. Like almost all hotels in Ireland there is no air conditioning, and you cannot open the window far enough to get a breeze. The fan did not help much

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, General Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear george b

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. The hotel is indeed modern as you mentioned and located across from the Mayo Peace Park in Castlebar, and just a few minutes walk into the centre of town. My apologies that you found your room too warm, as you mentioned we do not have air conditioning in the bedrooms just in the public areas like many other hotels in Ireland. We do provide fans to the bedrooms but unfortunately this did not help you much. The window in all the rooms has window restrictors as this is legal and safety requirement
for all hotels,
We hope to welcome you back again,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    291
    105
    38
    17
See reviews for
142
379
43
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay and had an amazing time. We had dinner on two nights and it was great. I had the steak and it was cooked to perfection. The staff at this hotel are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They made us feel so welcome. The location is great and we explored the surrounding area and even climbed Croagh Patrick. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishExplorer7570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear IrishExplorer7570,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin hotel and for choosing to stay with us for the three nights. I was delighted to read that you had an amazing time and that you enjoyed your steak for dinner.I am glad that you found the team to be friendly and that nothing was too much trouble and most importantly that you felt welcome.
The location of the hotel in Castlebar is ideal for touring around Mayo and well done on climbing Croagh Patrick!
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, from the moment we arrived until our departure we were looked after by friendly professional staff, the rooms are spotless, the food and service in the restaurant was certainly exceptional, well done to the management and staff for a lovely experience. Well done everyone. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snookey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear snookey1983,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you found the beautiful hotel, from the moment you arrived until your departure. I was delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and professional and your room was spotless. I will pass onto all the team your kind feedback about the food and service you experienced in the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband stayed in this hotel on business last week. Having driven from Dublin and working a full day he arrived to check in. Staff were lovely and friendly at reception. He had a deal whereby dinner was included in the room rate. However, he was told there were two coach parties in and that he would have to wait until 8.30 pm for dinner. He was a little disappointed to have to wait two hours and also he doesn't like to be told when he can eat. He was tired and hungry. His room was nice and clean. He was kept awake all night the first night with an automated alarm going off outside. He said there was a petrol station and a cemetery and one of them had a warning system that kept going off every 30 seconds saying 'warning, these premises are protected by ...... security'. When he went down for breakfast he asked reception if he could be moved and, in fairness, they moved him to another floor overlooking a courtyard. He did get a better night's sleep the next three nights (the rooms were very warm and the window didn't open very far) but couldn't get any wifi connection in his room which wouldn't have been a problem if he was on holiday but was a problem as he needed to work. It appears there is a black spot in the hotel. He had to go out of his room each evening (he was working into the small hours of the morning each night) and go onto a different floor to get connection. He did mention this on check out suggesting they profile their customers and allocate rooms accordingly. The second night he came back from work to be told, yet again, that he couldn't have dinner at 7.00 but that they had a space available at 8.00 pm. He said the food was average, breakfasts disappointing. Porridge, in particular, awful. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly, rooms were very clean but not having wifi in every room and being told when you can eat would put him off booking again. It appeared to him that coach parties got priority over other guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear gmhawthorn
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your husbands stays with us last week. I did have the opportunity to speak directly with him on check out on Thursday morning. Unfortunately the hotel was full and the restaurant was unable to accommodate him on the first night at an earlier time and my apologies over this. We certainly do not prioritise over coach bookings over individual guest bookings as have only an 80 seeter restaurant and operate a reservation sheet where we do try to accommodate all our residents. Your husband did mention to reception the following morning that he was awoken on his first night by external noise, a warning alarm. We certainly were unaware of any alarm going off externally and no other resident mention this, but if he had of called down to reception we would of arranged to move him rooms on the night, as we fully appreciate that our guest require a good nights sleep. As you mentioned he did move rooms the second night to a court yard room, where he did experience a quite nights sleep, but only when he mentioned on check out that he had issues connecting and getting signal to Wi Fi in his room, we were unaware of the poor signal from this room as we often allocate corporate guest to this rooms as it is a quite room and this issue was not highlighted to us before.
I am glad that your husband found the hotel staff to be lovely and friendly and my apologies again over the noise that he experienced on his first night and the limited availability in the restaurant. I would hope to welcome him back to the Harlequin Hotel at some point in the future and that we may attempt to repair his tarnished opinion of the hotel. I fully appreciate you feedback and thank you for this.
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We were here for 2 nights on our way to Galway. The interiour design of the hotel is nice, the rooms were ok. BUT: how to connect to the wi-fi system takes a lot of time and after 1 day, you have to get a new code. The toilet seat in the bath room was kind of broken/not fixed. You almost slipped off the seat. The staff was friendly. The breakfast nothing special. For the price, the hotel is recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccam74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear crue74

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel. I am glad that you like the interior of our hotel and the rooms. My apologies that you had issues connecting to the free wi fi that we offer, and we have codes for one night or three nights available at reception. Thank you for bringing to my attention the loose toilet seat, maintenance has rectified this. I would like to that thank you for recommending the hotel, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for one nit, i liked the style of the furnishings of the hotel and the rooms are clean and spacious. However, the reception/bar/restaurant are all in the one space which is a bit weird, as such, it doesn't really feel like there is a bar. This is disappointing as we do like to have a drink in the hotel bars. Also, we arrived from town at 6 and asked if we could eat in the restaurant and were told not until half eight as they had coach tours coming in. We asked for a manager and the manager also said no, after some persuasion he said he'd ask the chef, he came back and said we could have a table. When we went in, the restaurant was half empty with only 52 people on the coach tour eating. I would hate to see how the restaurant would cope if it was full. We were really annoyed that we were told we couldn't eat in the hotel and had to go through three lines of management before being allowed to eat there. That is our only complaint though, the food was lovely and so was the service. Good hotel for a one nighter but because of the bar and reception and restaurant being in the one area its not really comfortable for a long stay as u feel like ur in the one place all the time because that area in the hotel isn't overly big.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, General Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Babs003,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on the Harlequin from your recent stay with us on Monday Night. I am glad that you liked the style of the furnishings and that your bedroom was clean and spacious. We often get feedback on the layout of the ground floor as it is designed open plan boutique style, some people like it and some not so, I fully appreciate you would have preferred a more traditional style hotel bar to have a few drinks in.

My sincere apologies that you were not offered a more convenient time to dine as you mentioned they was one large group in but other diners are normally catered for as well. I will be speaking with Arthur directly as to why you were not accommodating immediately, my apologies again over this confusion. I was delighted to read that you did enjoy your meal and the service.
We hope to welcome you back again,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and found this a really good hotel. There is a free car park adjoining. The staff at reception were friendly and efficient. The bedroom was fine - clean and well laid out We had a room over the courtyard so did not suffer any noise and got an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was of the standard self service variety and was quite good. The reception cum bar area is a little small so I do not think you would linger there for too long.

Room Tip: Rooms over courtyard are quieter than those over street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dub24046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear dub24046
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in the Harlequin Hotel. I am glad that you availed of the free multi storey car park and that you found our hotel to be really good. and the team were friendly and efficient. You mentioned that your courtyard rooms was clean and well laid out and that you got an excellent nights sleep and that you availed of our breakfast offering that you found to be quite good.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.8 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#3 of 8 in Castlebar
254 reviews
8.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
10.6 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,071 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
875 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Property: Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Address: Lannagh Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing