We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value in excellent hotel!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from a one night stay at the Harlequin Hotel in Castlebar. Very good location especially if visiting Mayo General Hospital. Overall, an excellent hotel and very good value - well managed with very helpful, efficient and professional staff. Would also highly recommend the hotel restaurant for evening dinner. Normally it's difficult to get a hotel that ticks every box, but the Harlequin does - well done! I'll be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Marie M

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin Hotel, from your recent stay with us. The location of the hotel is ideal when you are visiting Mayo General Hospital. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, that you found it to be an excellent hotel and very good value. You mentioned that you found the team to be very helpful, efficient and professional. I really appreciate that you recommend the hotel restaurant for evening dinner so highly.
I look forward to welcoming you back again, in the near future,

Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    289
    105
    38
    17
See reviews for
141
377
43
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in the Harlequin hotel with three friends over the May bank holiday weekend and would highly recommend it to anyone. The location of the hotel is ideal - only a 5 min walk from Castlebar town, the rooms themselves were spacious and spotless, the decor of the hotel lovely, the staff friendly and helpful and on top of all that we managed to get a great deal through the Supervalu breaks.
If there was any negative point at all about the hotel would be the restaurant itself which is actually in the lobby & separated from the reception area solely by a room divider...we didn't have lunch/ dinner there because of this, but as there are plenty of places to eat in Castlebar itself it wasn't a particular issue for us. It would just have been an added extra if there was a separate dining room.
Will definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would suggest requesting a room that isn't facing onto the main road as the sound of passing tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear serena047,
Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience of the Harlequin Hotel and thank you too for highly recommend it to anyone. As you mentioned the location of the hotel is ideal and just a few minutes walk to Castlebar town. I am glad that your room was spacious and spotless, that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel as sometime we get mixed reviews about it, because it is so boutique and you found the team to be friendly and helpful.
I am disappointed that you did not get the opportunity to dine with us as the ground floor is open plan, it is free flowing for service, and hopefully when you are back with us again, you might decided to dine with us. As the restaurant has won and been nominated for many food awards over the years.
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location with an easy 2 minute walk into Castlebar centre. Checkin staff very helpful and friendly. Executive room had single & double bed, while not huge was perfect for one. Shower pressure could have been better but only a small quibble.
Furnishings are modern and the room was clean.
Restaurant area is nice but no real bar area to sit at if you just want to have a drink.
Breakfast was self service buffet with the usual suspects provided - cereal, bread, fruit, yoghurt, hot selection. Not the best but not the worst. I would advise losing the bowl or artificial fruit and replacing it with real fruit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear banbh,

I would like to thank you for writing a review on the Harlequin Hotel. The location is great as you mentioned and just a few minutes walk into the town centre. I will mention to the reception team that you found them to be very helpful and friendly. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodation, which the furnishings were modern and the room was clean but my apologies that you had an issue with the shower pressure; we will certainly look at this.

Unfortunately we do not have a traditional bar and the bar area is just off the restaurant and is limited for space as you mentioned many residents would normally have their drinks in the flyer area, as it is more spacious.
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Visit to the Harlequin Hotel Castlebar January 2013 I stayed here for one night on business this is a modern purpose-built hotel -the room was relatively compact but adequate consisting of a comfortable double bed, bathroom consisted of bath-shower toilet and wash hand basin blackout blinds were nice touch on the bedroom.

the hotel is serviced with an overg round car park immediately adjacent which is complimentary to hotel guests -breakfast is served in the lounge area and is buffet self-service quality -food was goodt- the hotel is very centrally located in Castlebar and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandclann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear davidandclann,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Harlequin Hotel back in January. As you mentioned it is a modern purpose-built hotel and I was glad to read that your room was comfortable. We have a complementary car park adjacent to the hotel and the hotel is very centrally located as you mentioned in your review. I will pass on your comments about the team that you found them to be very friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are on business in Castlebar.
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had an overnight stay for a performance in the nearby theatre, large room with double and single bed, very clean with view of the cemetery across the road!Breakfast was very good and plenty of it included in the deal we had.staff very pleasant and helpful. Only real downside was shower rail was only a spring loaded one and came down whilst shower was in use, also the water pressure to our 4th floor room was pathetic, took a good 20 minutes to fill the bath with sufficient water.Would recommend the hotel and would stay there again but would probably request a room nearer the ground floor.Price we paid was good value.If you like big fluffy bath towels take your own, one's provided certainly are not that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy551989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, General Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tracy551989,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel, for your recent stay with us on Tuesday night. The hotel is ideally located when attending s show at the Royal Theatre like for Billy Connelly as you mentioned. I am glad that your room was clean and that you room overlook the Mayo Memorial Peace Park , that commerates the lives of the Mayo soldiers that lost their lives in the wars overseas.
You mentioned that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and that you found the staff very pleasant and helpful. My apologies over your shower rail coming down this have been fixed and we are looking into the low water pressure that you mentioned.

Thank you for recommending the hotel and for choosing to stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on our way back home from ballina. It's a love boutique style hotel,very nicely decorated! There's free parking in the multi-story carpark which is very handy. The check in was quick and the reception staff were very helpful. Our room was a good size,with a double and single bed! Nice furniture with a gorgeous ornate mirror. The bathroom was a bit small but was very clean. I loved the bed and bed linen-both were very comfy. The lobby/reception area is very nicely decorated-but I do have to agree with previous reviews that stated that they missed somewhere to lounge around and have a drink. But it's a lovely space if you just fancied a coffee and a chat! We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on it. But it's very central to everything and there are a good few shops,so its an ideal base for a shopping trip. If you're out shopping and fancy a nice coffee and sandwich,try the brewery cup(across from lifestyle sports) its lovely! And for some lovely gastro pub food try bar one on rush street-gorgeous food! All in all we would definately return again to castlebar and the harlequin hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunneandDusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear DunneandDusted

Thank you, for writing a review on the Harlequin Hotel, although it was for one night I am delighted that you liked the boutique style hotel and you thought it was very nicely decorated. There's free parking in the multi-story car park which is very handy as you mentioned

I am glad that your check in was quick and the reception staff were very helpful and your room was a good size with nice furniture. We hope to welcome you back again the next tine you are in Castlebar,

Kind regards

Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and to treat ourselves we upgraded to a suite. The room was very large with a double and single the room also had a couch and kitchen loads of space which was great. We had dinner the first night in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent could fault nothing about the food and service. The bar is very very small which I found a bit off putting but as it is a botique hotel I should not have expected more. The hotel is in a good location and overall I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear harryandbill,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Harlequin Hotel last weekend. I am glad that you decided to avail of the upgrade to a suit and that you found your room was spacious and great.
I am delighted that you had the opportunity to dine with us and that you found both the food and service was excellent and that you could not fault anything. Unfortunately we have a small bar it is the boutique design some like this and some not so. The hotel is ideally located as you mentioned and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.8 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#3 of 8 in Castlebar
247 reviews
10.6 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
951 reviews
8.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,070 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
15.6 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Property: Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Address: Lannagh Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing