We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B we've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Co. Westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Myself, my partner and my friends stayed in the Garden Gates about 10 days ago. We were touring in the west of Ireland with friends from abroad and we were looking for a place to stay before heading off to Achill Island the next day. I found the Garden Gates on the internet, rang up and booked the rooms. We arrived quite late in the evening but we got a great and warm welcome from the hostess. The rooms (we had 3 rooms) were all beautifully and very tastefully decorated, the quality of the beds was impressive not to mention the warmth of the duvet, we really felt at home! We felt like staying for the week! There was different dishes to choose from for breakfast but we all went for the full Irish which was very tasty and kept us going until the evening! There are very few places in Ireland where you can get value for money and the Garden Gates is definitely the best value for money we had in a long time! Well done, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastoris_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful visit to Ireland. On September 23rd we drove up to Castlebar (IslandEady) from Dublin and after a long ride we were welcomed into the home of Martina and Brendan with warm coffee and yummy cookies. I am happy that we took the advice of other reviewers on this site and chose the Garden Gates for our stay. The place and our hosts couldn’t have been nicer.

First off the house is a beautiful warm place with wide wooded planked floors and big comfy chairs. The beds will absorb you right in, and the fresh country air gives you a peaceful, restful sleep. Situated conveniently off of route N5 it was easy to find (a joy if you are driving on an unfamiliar side of the road). A stones throw down the road (8km) is the little town of Westport which is great for a bite to eat or a walk around the quaint streets. Martina pointed out the best places to go (thanks!).

My dad was with us on this leg of our trip and our hosts made sure we enjoyed a big proper (full) Irish breakfast while Brendan and dad engaged in long conversation about the O’Boyle family ties that we still had in the area. He even offered to introduce us as they were old friends and it would be absolutely no trouble. (We promise next time) Coco the dog and the horses rounded out the experience. We would most definitely stay again.

Finally I have to give a big thanks to Martina for helping to make sure that my dads watch found its way safely home.

  • Liked — Our Hosts
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your time there
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-and-Suk-Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week vacation. We traveled through all parts of Ireland in the 2 weeks and this B & B was by far the best place we stayed. The hospitality outranked the others and the comfort could not be beat. The shared family room (den) was cozy, we felt right at home watching the world cup matches! The owners here made my kids feel welcome and the breakfast was made to order and to please. If I ever make it back to Ireland, I would definately stay here again. By the way, the foal was a bit bigger now, but still a highlight- came right over to my boys and let them pet her(him?) We had 5 people in one of the "family suites" and we were quite comfortable- very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Martina and Brendan were wonderful hosts. They were friendly and welcoming and went above and beyond the call of duty for us! We had a mix up with travellers cheques from our previous lodgings and Martina took care of sorting it all out with the help of her brother. Not your average B&B! Not to mention I have never slept in such a comfortable bed in my life!!! And the showers were fabulous in a country where water pressure can be an issue.That along with the beautiful setting and the very reasonable rates made for a very enjoyable stay. I would not hesitate to recommend the Garden Gates to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in the Castlebar/Westport area.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2006

Actually, it was the best of ALL 6 we experienced throughout Mayo, Donegal, the Antrim coast, and Belfast during our trip. While many of them greeted us with tea and a nice (but store-bought) snack, Brendan and Martina at Garden Gates greeted us with tea and a warm, homemade strawberry and rhubarb cobbler upon our late evening arrival.

MOST impressive was the incredible water pressure, and wonderfully roomy shower, and the BEDS were at a comfort level that we'd buy one for our home. They did NOT skimp on the amenities for their guests.

Breakfast was terrific, and the view, the grounds, and even the horses were beautiful! (Especially the week-and-a-half old foal - CUTIE!)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 28, 2006

The Garden Gates is an absolutely wonderful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone staying in this part of County Mayo. The house is situated just off the main road, 5 miles between Castlebar and Westport. Martina and Brendan were most accommodating, catering to any need. They were available to suggest places to eat, shop, and visit in the area and beyond. The food was outstanding, from the fruit salad, cereal and yogurt to the full Irish meal, and even pancakes on request; I enjoyed every bit (mostly the award winning white pudding). The house itself is beautiful, newly built, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms extremely clean (the showers were especially good). The Sammon’s have a separate sitting room available to guest for their own pleasure. They also have a light snack menu in case you’re interested in having a bit to eat after a long day. The house is surrounded by green fields and large trees which their 3 horses (1 new foul) lazily spend their days.

Overall, the accommodation is fabulous and Martina and Brendan are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 24, 2005

My wife and I had a lovely time at Garden Gate. The Garden Gate is situated close to Westport but is off the main road near a church and lake. Its a really beautiful area and we enjoyed walking on the small roads around the area. The room we had was modern, large and comfortable and also had those really good showers (sometimes not always the case with B&Bs. The owners are friendly and really helpful. They were able to recommended some great restaurants to go to in Westport. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and so would definitely return if we were visiting the area again.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
4.3 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
4.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kenny's Guesthouse
Kenny's Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.4 mi away
Woodview Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Property: The Garden Gates B & B
Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing