We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
87
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull irishcomfortable bedsmartinapathsmayohosts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 99 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

We were doing a motorbike tour of the West Coast of Ireland and had nowhere booked. We arrived in Castlebar on Saturday evening and found nowhere available due to a long bank holiday weekend. We tried plenty of hotels and B&Bs. Called the Garden Gates who were also fully booked but helped us with a cottage available for the night. The cottage was lovely private and clean. Thank you so much you were a life saver.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

A beautiful house in beautiful grounds. A lovely warm welcome from Martina and Larry and of course Honey the bloodhound (who is outside). The rooms are clean and soooo comfortable. I had the best nights sleep in the wonderfully large bed. The breakfasts are great, lots of choice should you stray from the full Irish and homemade jams and cake all served with warmth and great humour. We have become fast friends with them both and feel like we are coming home when we visit. So relaxed we didn't want to leave. Oh and a great base to explore Mayo.

Room Tip: check the website for pictures as all have a theme e.g. Rose is decorated in red. All are good.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

Nice clean rooms with modern en suite and comfortable beds, generous tasty breakfast, calm and beautiful location, friendly host, easy parking - what's not to like? Definitely a good option well worth a detour.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank DetteM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

The location is in a peaceful and quiet area, that had a welcome feeling when you opened the front door. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. Our hosts were helpful, friendly, and caring but still gave us enough space so they weren't intrusive. Just a nice relaxed setting that welcomes you. Breakfast was very good and I would stay with them again when in the area. We had a beautiful sunny day to the mountain.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Very friendly welcome; comfortable and clean room, fantastic breakfast, friendly hosts, felt like home. Peaceful and quiet location but not far from the main road.
The daily afternoon cake in our was a lovely surprise. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emmamtp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews