We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service, worth its 5 stars..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Garden Gates is a wonderful b&b situated between Castlebar & Westport, ideal as a base for West Ireland touring. Martina is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are tastefully decorated, beds are very comfortable, the peaceful location ensures a good night's sleep.
I highly recommend staying here and hope to return..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulclayton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Gates B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

martina and her family were lovely from the moment we arrived. the room we stayed in was very big and spacious and decorated very tastefully. the surroundings of the b&b are beautiful. the breakfast was delicious and we were asked if we wanted more, when we checked in we were given delicious cake on arrival and on the 2nd day of our stay aswell. we asked about booking a taxi into town and martina herself was going to town that evening and gave us a lift, it's all these little things that make you feel so welcome and comfortable. i would recommend this place to anybody that is travelling to mayo business or pleasure. thanks so much for a wonderful stay. catherine & jp.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A warm welcome and a lovely large room with views over the hills. A quiet location in this beautiful area. Breakfast was generous and the home made bread delicious. Martina is a very helpful hostess and advised us on local restaurants for the evening. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaireMikeWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile


The location is perfect as it is handy to some of the areas main coastal and inland towns. Its in a really rural setting surrounded by fields, trees and farm life. A great welcome on arrival with refreshments including home made cake.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful! Good location between Castlebar and Westport, convenient to Croagh Patrick. A very welcoming hostess, Martina provided us with homemade cake and beverages on arrival and a splendid selection for breakfast, Very pleasant rural surroundings. Had the best power shower in two weeks. Martina even provided a special toast to us to celebrate the Irish football win, and helped me figure out a glitch in my newly purchased European cell phone! Just spectacular all around. Would recommend highly and hope for an opportunity to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent accommodations. Excellent breakfast, with choices as to how much and what you wanted. Martina is a wonderful host. This is a beautiful, quiet haven when visiting this part of Ireland. Martina was able to give good recommendations as to meals and sightseeing. Places like this are why I try to stay at B&Bs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Absolutely terrific accommodation, very friendly & helpful staff.

The breakfast was extremely tasty and there was a huge variety.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone considering going to the West.

Craogh Patrick climb was also a must!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derv87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
4.3 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
888 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
43 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 17 in Castlebar
48 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#9 of 17 in Castlebar
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing