We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The warmest welcome in County Mayo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #4 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome in County Mayo”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

From the moment Martina , the proprietress, welcomed us over her threshold we knew would would love it here. Five days of perfect peace in all kinds of Irish weather, sharing the tranquility and beauty of our surroundings with Ginger, the mare, who we watched browsing the field from our bedroom window. Our room was warm and spacious with splendid far off views of fields and hills. After a wonderful sleep in an enormous bed we descended to a sumptuous breakfast (the breakfast menu was enormous too). After a day' s walking, wallowing in our hot bath crowned the day. This house proves the adage that the proprietor makes the place. The hospitality and friendliness we received were second to none. This was as far from the madding crowd as one could be.

Room Tip: Our room was to the rear of the house. It was large with an en suite bathroom.the views were excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradley Stoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2011

What a wonderful welcome - tea & cake or biscuits - a great breakfast as well
I travel the world and I wish I could stay in other places like this
My circumstances were not the best but Martina and other members of her family were fantastic in their hospitality

Room Tip: Talk to Martina with your request or concerns
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at The Garden Gates B&B for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This B&B has all the bells and whistles of a 5 star establishment and more. Our host Martina (and her two very friendly dogs) was very welcoming. She made us feel very at home straight away and was incredibly accommodating of my disabled mother.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and have great views of the surrounding farming area. We loved the country feel - especially the horse which you can see from the bedrooms.

It is perfectly situated between Castle Bar and Westport although I would give Castle Bar a wide berth and spend all your time in Westport, which has fantastic ocean views, restaurants, shops and a great township atmosphere. Martina was kind enough to recommend some great Westport restaurants to us one of which is the Shebeen which is a thatched room pub with great views and even better food.

If you want a beautiful B&B experience in gorgeous surrounds with an even better breakfast then this is a perfect choice. We would also highly recommend this accommodation for less mobile or disabled guests.

Thanks to Martina and her family for creating wonderful memories for us - you won't be forgotten.

Love Desiree, Jack and Jenny (Australia)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatitamuybonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This only gets five stars because I can't give more! Martina was lovely, all the people we met were so helpful, breakfasts were scrumptious, rooms luxurious, and the whole area is wonderful. Will definitely go backl

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved staying at The Garden Gates! Martina is the warmest person, so helpful and full of information about the area. We loved the lovely country setting and it's very convenient to Westport. The breakfast Martina made was just fantastic. Our room was a great size and everything was very clean. I would highly recommend staying at The Garden Gates if you're in the Westport area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gregandcathy4ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The location is wonderful, in the quiet country but close enough to both Castlebar and Westport to act as a gateway to both the north and south of Mayo, and Galway to the far south. Martina is a fantastic host, friendly, highly knowledge about the area and well-connected to the local community.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Honeysuckle Room, on the ground floor was very quiet, had a large en-suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our stay here on Saturday night was lovely. As we arrived we were greeted by Martina and showed to our room where we enjoyed freshly baked cake. The room was basically massive, enough for 4 people with a decent size bathroom. The room had amazing views across the fields and you could clearly see Craogh Patrick in the distance. When asked for a taxi into Westport, Martina kindly offered to drive us in herself as she was going there anyway. I thought this was a lovely gesture and greatly appreciated. She recommended The Pantry and Corkscrew for dinner and we were not disappointed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and all in all, we couldn't have asked for more. A truly great B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
4.3 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
865 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
4.8 mi away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,367 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,598 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Property: The Garden Gates B & B
Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing