We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 17 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This only gets five stars because I can't give more! Martina was lovely, all the people we met were so helpful, breakfasts were scrumptious, rooms luxurious, and the whole area is wonderful. Will definitely go backl

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved staying at The Garden Gates! Martina is the warmest person, so helpful and full of information about the area. We loved the lovely country setting and it's very convenient to Westport. The breakfast Martina made was just fantastic. Our room was a great size and everything was very clean. I would highly recommend staying at The Garden Gates if you're in the Westport area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gregandcathy4ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The location is wonderful, in the quiet country but close enough to both Castlebar and Westport to act as a gateway to both the north and south of Mayo, and Galway to the far south. Martina is a fantastic host, friendly, highly knowledge about the area and well-connected to the local community.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Honeysuckle Room, on the ground floor was very quiet, had a large en-suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our stay here on Saturday night was lovely. As we arrived we were greeted by Martina and showed to our room where we enjoyed freshly baked cake. The room was basically massive, enough for 4 people with a decent size bathroom. The room had amazing views across the fields and you could clearly see Craogh Patrick in the distance. When asked for a taxi into Westport, Martina kindly offered to drive us in herself as she was going there anyway. I thought this was a lovely gesture and greatly appreciated. She recommended The Pantry and Corkscrew for dinner and we were not disappointed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and all in all, we couldn't have asked for more. A truly great B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here last weekend and was very impressed.rooms spotless and Martina the owner was very friendly and helpful -provided recommendations on what to do and where to eat out. (Would also recommend the sheebeen for food). Breakfast was excellent -potato cakes and smoked salmon delicious!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrgggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed one night while researching family connections to the area. The accommodations were terrific. It is in a beautiful tranquil area. Martina the owner was very helpful. Breakfast was very good. The house is only a few years old and is perfect in every way. (I don't remember the last time I had such great water pressure in a shower.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We spent two nights in the Garden Gates B & B and enjoyed every minute. Our room was relaxing, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large. We loved the breakfasts, melt in the mouth salmon and good coffee....delicious. The breakfast room was light and spacious and overlooked a field with the owners horses. Views all around the house were lovely.
The service and the welcome we received from Martina and Brendan was excellent, more than we expected. We are planning another visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
4.3 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
859 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
2.3 mi away
Westbrook Country House
Westbrook Country House
#1 of 17 in Castlebar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kenny's Guesthouse
Kenny's Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Castlebar
99 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 17 in Castlebar
44 reviews
6.4 mi away
Woodview Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Property: The Garden Gates B & B
Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing